Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Omit the ketchup and substitute tomato sauce for ketchup (do this with everything involving ketchup to avoid 'high fructose' corn syrup) and you have a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This recipe is delicious as written. If you are worried about too much sugar, simply omit the brown sugar. Changing the ketchup to tomato sauce totally alters the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I'm from NE PA so I really though this was real barbecue growing up. This is just like my mother's recipe and a staple at all of our family gatherings. So easy with great results AND you basically always have these ingredients on hand. As some other reviewers added, green peppers are a good addition if you have on hand but not a necessity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Drums, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spring Mount, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I have been making this recipe for years (except that I also add 1.5 T of worchestershire sauce) and it is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Fantastic! Came across this recipe when I was bored with making hamburgers and spaghetti sauce. It's a sloppy-joe like meal, but with a totally different taste. Very sweet/sour, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mount Dora, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
It's an easy sloppy joe recipe. I tripled the filling and froze it for future quick dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Well, this was a surprise. Except for the vinegar, the sauce of this "barbecue" is the same mixture my mother always used atop her meatloaves. Just that little touch of vinegar turned the corner from meatloaf topping to barbecue! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Terrific barbecue sandwiches! This isn't the typical barbecue beef we are used to as it isn't tomatoey, smoky, or peppery, but it is great. I let this simmer about an hour and only used 1/2 an onion and added 1/2 tsp onion powder to make up the difference. I had to use cider vinegar instead of white. So much better than manwich as my husband said. He even ate two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This meal is what we in the south call a "Sloppy Joe". I have tried several recipes that my 3 year old and myself liked but my husband wasn't crazy about. BUT, this one was a hit for all of us! It is by far my favorite and my husband actually likes it! The only change I made (bc my hubby doesn't like pieces of onions) is I use onion powder instead of onions. YUMMY! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I was skeptical about this one because my kids HATE Manwich type stuff. However, they ate this up and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States