Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Made this last night for picky son. Used chopped red onion because that's all I had. Tasted the sauce as I made it - added about 2 tsp of worchestershire sauce, some onion powder, some garlic powder, and about 2 tsp of spicy brown mustard in place of regular yellow mustard to cut the taste of ketchup. I thought it was much better than the canned sloppy joe stuff and my son ate two, so he must have agreed with me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Good stuff. This is the same recipe my mom always made. I am from PA. LOL. I think she used to put a dash of Worcestershire sauce in it though also. I never used to be crazy about it when I was a child, but I do get cravings for it sometimes now that I'm older. Sometimes I throw pepper pieces into the meat along w the onion and that's really good too, or chopped tomato pieces. If you're having company and want to make a lot, you can put it in the slow cooker after you brown and drain the beef. You can keep it on low for hours. And, it stays moist as long as your guests don't leave the lid off of the slow cooker! I have added honey instead of sugar before also, and that was good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I've been making this for years, we call it Beef BBQ. Learned the recipe from my mom she used to make it all the time. I think it blows regular sloppy joes out of the water! Yes, I'm from PA btw ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is our family Sloppy Joe recipe- the only way I've ever known Sloppy Joes to be. And holding true to the name, I'm the proud grand-daughter of 2 PA coal miners. We most often substitute onion powder for the chopped variety but everything else is the same. Great also between 2 slices of store bought white bread. Guaranteed crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forever_donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I'm from the soft coal region of PA. Been making this for years. I like to add a little green pepper. Does wonderful in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gipsy, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cherry Tree, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Super Easy, Super Hit with two little Super Kids..... If it's Kid Approved it's 5 Star! Hit with us adults too. Followed exactly and thought it much better than manwich and the envelope sloppy joe mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graphxlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This is the exact recipe my mom made for us when we were growing up & I've made for my own family since the 1970's. And when I remember, I'll add a dash or two of worcestershire sauce. We love it! Goes great with potato salad and corn on the cob!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coloma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Great weeknight dinner. I used 1/2 regular ketchup and 1/2 hot and spicy ketchup because that is what I had on hand. Delicious, easy supper. Served with pickles, fresh corn. Chips would have been nice, but didn't want the calories, so I made a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This is also good using ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Hey Hezzy_tant_cook, do we have the same mom? I grew up with this and it is a family favorite passed on to my own grown children now. This is "bbq" in our house. I no longer live in PA so can't call it bbq any more because people expect something very different if I do. But it will always be bbq to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States