Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
We liked these! Ok....I did use extra lean ground chicken instead of beef....but they were delicious! I also added a diced green pepper and a diced vidalia onion. Served on whole wheat sandwich thins (Arnold brand). Served with cucumber salad and corn on the cob from the farm . Easy, quick and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Great hit with the kids! They now prefer this to the canned sloppy joe sauce. Good as is I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOF3EEES

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I made this a few months back (weird, my review seems to have vanished) for my boys (as in husband and two kids) as they like any kind of meat dish you slap into a bun. I did add a mess of fresh minced garlic but I made no other changes. My husband thought it could use a little more "umph" but the two boys liked it okay. This is pretty much a simple sloppy joe. If I made this again, I'd play around with the recipe a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I have to say, this surprised me. I had a pound of ground beef thawed for chili and no one felt like it, so I made these instead. The only thing I added was a dash of worstishire. My Manwich loving hubby thought they were great and my non-Mamwich loving 5 yr old son thought they were great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This meal is what we in the south call a "Sloppy Joe". I have tried several recipes that my 3 year old and myself liked but my husband wasn't crazy about. BUT, this one was a hit for all of us! It is by far my favorite and my husband actually likes it! The only change I made (bc my hubby doesn't like pieces of onions) is I use onion powder instead of onions. YUMMY! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Great recipe! I made it exactly as is. Read a can of the sloppy joe sauce and see all the "extra" stuff in there you are not getting if you try this home-made recipe. thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This was excellent. I made exactly as directed and it turned out so good and was so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Classic, simple, fast, rich tasting. Kid's love it. All you could ask for in a Sloppy Joe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is the best sloppy joes I have had in...well, ever. I will defanitly make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
i dont care for canned bbq sauce but we have it once in a while. not again. this recipe was so darn good i was eating more of it instead of putting it away for leftovers. yum! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States