Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was a huge hit. I made it with Johnsonville sausage instead of ground beef and everyone raved about it and wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
We enjoyed this for a quick meal--over organic blue chips with some cheese and a little ranch dressing. Not the usual tomato base BBQ or sloppy joe--definitely easier on the stomach. Liked the contrast in the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeachBabe Gluten Free

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanatoga, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Ran out of ketchup, tried tomato paste. No go. Totally changes the end result. I'm originally from the coal country area of Pennsylvania(near Pine Grove) and once I did the recipe with the ketchup, then it brought back memories of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This really is pretty good! It is a sloppy joe cousin. The key is definately to let it simmer with the ketchup, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
What wonderful flavours! It was great to find a ground beef recipe that wasn't lasagne, chilli or meatballs! Everbody loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Very tasty and very easy to make. Everyone should try it at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
If you omit the ketchup and substitute tomato sauce then you are not making barbeque. I have used homemade ketchup but thats what makes it. Its a Pa Dutch recipe often made in large batches for gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
If you are expecting something spectacular this recipe isn't for you. Has a nice flavor, is quick and easy. I used the instructions to get it started but then put it in the slow cooker for the flavors to meld all day. Just couldn't get the nice dark color in the photo. Nice reminder that a good meal doesn't need to be complicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Love this. So easy, and SO GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
a taste of home!yay!recently moved to texas from PA and let me tell you the food here is SO different :| and I crave tastes of PA food and THIS did the job! Thanks! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirkie1
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mineola, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States