Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This gets five stars not only for ease but also for taste. The mustard is the secret - my family doesn't like mustard, but never realized it was in there and loved the kick it added. To make this healthier I used ground chicken instead of beef and subbed half the ketchup with tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Where do you begin except to say AWESOME! 5 STARS would give more if they had it... So simple and quick , we are not a fan of the canned " wich" stuff; this blows it out of the water the only thing we added was a slice of bread and butter pickle to it YUM:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, except I added some celery with the onion. It was a tasty recipe, but it did not exceed my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
All six people in my family gave this rave reviews. Their only complaint was I didn't make enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Loved it because it was so quick and easy to make. Brought back memories of my grandmother cooking when I was little. I always have wondered why sloppy jo's have never quite hit the spot for me. Now I realize that this is what I was always craving. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I love this recipe just as written it's also good as a hot dog sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Martins Ferry, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Used ground turkey instead of beef, added a few dashes of worcestershire & a tsp of minced garlic. Really tasty, I prefer it over the manwich in a can. Update: I used Dijon & it was even better. Also, I think the brown sugar is essential & doesn't make it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
We liked these! Ok....I did use extra lean ground chicken instead of beef....but they were delicious! I also added a diced green pepper and a diced vidalia onion. Served on whole wheat sandwich thins (Arnold brand). Served with cucumber salad and corn on the cob from the farm . Easy, quick and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Great hit with the kids! They now prefer this to the canned sloppy joe sauce. Good as is I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOF3EEES

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I made this a few months back (weird, my review seems to have vanished) for my boys (as in husband and two kids) as they like any kind of meat dish you slap into a bun. I did add a mess of fresh minced garlic but I made no other changes. My husband thought it could use a little more "umph" but the two boys liked it okay. This is pretty much a simple sloppy joe. If I made this again, I'd play around with the recipe a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States