Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Super Easy, Super Hit with two little Super Kids..... If it's Kid Approved it's 5 Star! Hit with us adults too. Followed exactly and thought it much better than manwich and the envelope sloppy joe mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graphxlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This is the exact recipe my mom made for us when we were growing up & I've made for my own family since the 1970's. And when I remember, I'll add a dash or two of worcestershire sauce. We love it! Goes great with potato salad and corn on the cob!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coloma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Great weeknight dinner. I used 1/2 regular ketchup and 1/2 hot and spicy ketchup because that is what I had on hand. Delicious, easy supper. Served with pickles, fresh corn. Chips would have been nice, but didn't want the calories, so I made a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This is also good using ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Hey Hezzy_tant_cook, do we have the same mom? I grew up with this and it is a family favorite passed on to my own grown children now. This is "bbq" in our house. I no longer live in PA so can't call it bbq any more because people expect something very different if I do. But it will always be bbq to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This recipe came to my attention through the All Recipes email newsletter. Perfect timing! I had a pound of hamburger in the fridge, trying to decide what to do with it and low and behold, there was this recipe. Being from Pennsylvania myself, the title naturally caught my attention. All of the ingredients were standards in the pantry and the recipe itself is simple. The taste though is anything but simple. This is Absolutely Delicious! I wouldn't change a thing on the recipe! This is just the perfect mixture of sweet and sour flavors. It comes together quickly and everyone in the family just loved it! I really recommend this for the busy Mom or Dad or anyone. THANK YOU for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This is how we have always made our hot dog chili for our hot dog cook-outs in South Carolina. We have some family members that eat it in the bun with out the dog, easy to eat in a hot dog bun, does not fall out every where.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dlm843

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
These are the same ingredients i use to make my own sloppy joes with and i live in Michigan. Ive been making these for years and i have always recieved such wonderful remarks from family and friends. Better then a Jar they say lol Very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This recipe is delicious as written. If you are worried about too much sugar, simply omit the brown sugar. Changing the ketchup to tomato sauce totally alters the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I've lived in coal-cracker country in PA all my life and this is a great, what we call here, Sloppy Joe. A little further up in northern PA they call it a wimpie. Whatever you call it, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflyte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States