Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This is EXCELLENT!! Our family loved this. My 2 year old doesn't like bread but ate 3 huge spoonfuls. Next time I will double the recipe so I have leftovers. My husband ate his on a buns, but I ate mine on rice and let me tell you what, that is very, very good. It doesn't taste like sloppy joes at all. We really enjoyed this and I will be making it a lot in the future. The only change was adding 1 TBSP water to it because it seemed to thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidiw

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I thought that this was going to be great based on the reviews, even though I was skeptical. And I should have known better. This recipe is sickly sweet. Not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was wonderful...I grew up with Man-Wich...and my husband grew up with just ketchup and meat....This was a perfect blend of both...I have been sauteing onions, bell pepper & fresh garlic in a tbs of sesame oil. Then putting that aside and brown the the beef, after draining of the fat....you mix back in the onions and bell pepper mix. It retains the juice so they dont get drained off with the fat....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Halee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I'm a sloppy joe fanatic. I have a half-dozen recipes for it, but this one shot to the top and I'm throwing several out. I took a taste as it was cooking, and was worried that it would be too sweet. But after it simmered and the flavors combined, it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Wow! I will never look at a can of Manwich the same way again. I ate my share of "sloppy joes" as a kid; I always found the sauce to be overpowering, gloppy and too tomato-y. This recipe, however, has just the right amount of moisture and a really nice combination of flavors. I did have to use spicy brown mustard in lieu of yellow, since I was out. Next time I will add hot sauce for more kick--though I don't think you really need to add or omit anything from this simple, fabulous dish. I served this on toasted/lightly buttered English muffins, which is the way I've always eaten my Manwich. My only complaint is that I didn't make enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEADGIRRRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Just as easy and better tasting than the canned stuff. I followed the recipe exactly and wouldnt change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
These were very good, especially coming from someone who does not care for regular sloppy joes. The sweet and sour flavor was delicious and to add a little something, I served mine with a slice of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Really tasty alternative to sloppy joes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
UPDATE: I've made this numerous times and it's always good EXCEPT for the last time I made it. I didn't have white vinegar so I substituted apple cider vinegar. NOT A GOOD IDEA. It gave it a really strange, unpleasant taste and smell. ORIGINAL REVIEW: This was very good. My family of five just doesn't like the canned versions of sloppy joes (we've tried them all!) I've also tried some others from this site with no success. This recipe had a very nice taste, not too tangy, not too sweet. I'll definitely keep this recipe on hand for a quick meal idea that doesn't require a run to the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This recipe is great!Quick,easy,tasty...what more could you want?The only thing I changed was I used half the amount of brown sugar after I made it the first time because it was too sweet.This is now a weekly dish in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CopCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States