Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I'm a sloppy joe fanatic. I have a half-dozen recipes for it, but this one shot to the top and I'm throwing several out. I took a taste as it was cooking, and was worried that it would be too sweet. But after it simmered and the flavors combined, it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Wow! I will never look at a can of Manwich the same way again. I ate my share of "sloppy joes" as a kid; I always found the sauce to be overpowering, gloppy and too tomato-y. This recipe, however, has just the right amount of moisture and a really nice combination of flavors. I did have to use spicy brown mustard in lieu of yellow, since I was out. Next time I will add hot sauce for more kick--though I don't think you really need to add or omit anything from this simple, fabulous dish. I served this on toasted/lightly buttered English muffins, which is the way I've always eaten my Manwich. My only complaint is that I didn't make enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEADGIRRRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Just as easy and better tasting than the canned stuff. I followed the recipe exactly and wouldnt change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
These were very good, especially coming from someone who does not care for regular sloppy joes. The sweet and sour flavor was delicious and to add a little something, I served mine with a slice of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Really tasty alternative to sloppy joes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
UPDATE: I've made this numerous times and it's always good EXCEPT for the last time I made it. I didn't have white vinegar so I substituted apple cider vinegar. NOT A GOOD IDEA. It gave it a really strange, unpleasant taste and smell. ORIGINAL REVIEW: This was very good. My family of five just doesn't like the canned versions of sloppy joes (we've tried them all!) I've also tried some others from this site with no success. This recipe had a very nice taste, not too tangy, not too sweet. I'll definitely keep this recipe on hand for a quick meal idea that doesn't require a run to the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This recipe is great!Quick,easy,tasty...what more could you want?The only thing I changed was I used half the amount of brown sugar after I made it the first time because it was too sweet.This is now a weekly dish in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CopCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Really quite tasty. I used ground turkey instead of beef, half a white onion (finely chopped) and 1 T each of mustard, vinegar and brown sugar. I just used whatever ketchup was left in the bottle. My picky daughters (8 & 10) both ate it, and my 10 year old (who melted a little American cheese on hers) really liked it (which is amazing considering she doesn't like meatloaf, onions, mustard, ketchup, vinegar or anything else with flavor). Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was so easy to make and so good. What a great alternative to sloppy joes! Thanks for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Auburn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
The two 11 year olds and 17 year old in the house loved this. I have been trying different "sloppy joe style" recipes lately and this was one of the favourites so far. I might add a dash of liquid Hickory Smoke flavour next time. I'd add this to the list of easy dinners for kids who are learning to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States