Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I'm from NE PA so I really though this was real barbecue growing up. This is just like my mother's recipe and a staple at all of our family gatherings. So easy with great results AND you basically always have these ingredients on hand. As some other reviewers added, green peppers are a good addition if you have on hand but not a necessity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Drums, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spring Mount, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Not a big ground beef fan, but this was great! Very tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCallLeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
mmm....just like my mom used to make. maybe even a little better. sshhh... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I've never been a fan of sloppy joes, until I tried this recipe. Very tasty and it doesn't have an overpowering tomato taste like the canned stuff. My kids like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Made it just the way it was and it came out perfect! No more buying expensive Manwich cans at all and less sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vita Collaco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Okay, not rave reviews...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I have been making this recipe for years (except that I also add 1.5 T of worchestershire sauce) and it is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
My youngest son and husband gave ratings of 5. I rated a four but that was just because I thought it was a little sweet but still very good. Loved the simplicity of this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
A winner in our house for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I live in PA, and while we don't have any coal mining in my area that I know of, the next town over is a steel town, where my mother lived for a while growing up. She makes a BBQ very similar to this one (though she doesn't add vinegar). It had very good flavor, and was super quick, easy, and cheap to make for our lunch yesterday. We both liked it, though I think I might have preferred a touch more vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States