Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Easy and good. Wish I'd tried it sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Made thisrecipe many years...from the coal regions. I found some years ago that adding a Bell pepper with the onion makes it just a little tastier, but that is only if you like Bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Perris, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Our family and guests love this recipe. I did add extra vinegar to make it more sour and onion powder to make it just right for our palates. It does freeze well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I made this to the recipe. The mustard came through a little strong for me. The end product was also very dry. I much prefer the Sloppy Joes II recipe by Tamara. They are very similar so I don't know why this one was so dry. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I wish I could give 4.5 stars, because it's not quite a 5 for me but not quite as low as a 4. It came out a little too sweet for my taste, so I added extra vinegar and mustard. I also doctored it up with about 2 teaspoons of garlic powder and a dash of ancho chile powder and plenty of salt and pepper. Next time, I'll reduce the sugar to just one tablespoon, increase the vinegar to 2 tablespoons and the mustard to 2 teaspoons. But this was a great, EASY, and cheap recipe for a homecooked meal where you don't want to shop for fancy ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Yup, this is how hamburger barbaque is done where I grew up in PA. Didn't know you made it another way. I use venison so I add a touch of oil when I brown the meat and extra vinegar cause my family likes it sour. Didn't know there were 'other ways' of doing it until I went to college. Manwich is gross, make your hamburger bbq this way and you'll never go back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I'm from NE PA so I really though this was real barbecue growing up. This is just like my mother's recipe and a staple at all of our family gatherings. So easy with great results AND you basically always have these ingredients on hand. As some other reviewers added, green peppers are a good addition if you have on hand but not a necessity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Drums, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spring Mount, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Not a big ground beef fan, but this was great! Very tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCallLeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
mmm....just like my mom used to make. maybe even a little better. sshhh... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I've never been a fan of sloppy joes, until I tried this recipe. Very tasty and it doesn't have an overpowering tomato taste like the canned stuff. My kids like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States