Pennsylvania Coal Region Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Hey Hezzy_tant_cook, do we have the same mom? I grew up with this and it is a family favorite passed on to my own grown children now. This is "bbq" in our house. I no longer live in PA so can't call it bbq any more because people expect something very different if I do. But it will always be bbq to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This recipe came to my attention through the All Recipes email newsletter. Perfect timing! I had a pound of hamburger in the fridge, trying to decide what to do with it and low and behold, there was this recipe. Being from Pennsylvania myself, the title naturally caught my attention. All of the ingredients were standards in the pantry and the recipe itself is simple. The taste though is anything but simple. This is Absolutely Delicious! I wouldn't change a thing on the recipe! This is just the perfect mixture of sweet and sour flavors. It comes together quickly and everyone in the family just loved it! I really recommend this for the busy Mom or Dad or anyone. THANK YOU for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This is how we have always made our hot dog chili for our hot dog cook-outs in South Carolina. We have some family members that eat it in the bun with out the dog, easy to eat in a hot dog bun, does not fall out every where.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dlm843

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
These are the same ingredients i use to make my own sloppy joes with and i live in Michigan. Ive been making these for years and i have always recieved such wonderful remarks from family and friends. Better then a Jar they say lol Very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This recipe is delicious as written. If you are worried about too much sugar, simply omit the brown sugar. Changing the ketchup to tomato sauce totally alters the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I've lived in coal-cracker country in PA all my life and this is a great, what we call here, Sloppy Joe. A little further up in northern PA they call it a wimpie. Whatever you call it, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflyte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I will never buy pre-made sloppy joe mix again. Recipe can be tweaked easily per your preference but going by recipe as stated it is very good. This is a regular in our house and I make large batches of it when ground beef goes on sale and freeze in 1lb portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
We didnt enjoy this one. I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
i thought this was just ok, my DH liked this more than i did, and my DS didn't even comment. i don't know that i've ever made a dish like this before. i might make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Amazingly easy and tasty! Kids usually balk at sloppy joes, but they gobbled this all up! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRodMc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States