Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Erica Melies
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Made it tonight using some suggestions from other reviewers. I started with panchetta before cooking up the sausage. Also increased the heavy whipping cream to 3/4 cup and vodka to 1/4'cup, increased red pepper to 1 tbsp, added frozen spinach and topped with fresh shaved parmesan cheese. My husband and I loved it. Definitely a make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Restaurant quality! I used about twice the meat, and it seemed perfect to me. Even my small children ate it easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I am sure this recipe would be great as it is but I made just a few changes to accomodate what I had on hand. I used a half pound of 97/3% lean ground round and a half pound of ground sweet Italian turkey sausage,canned tomatoes with Italian seasonings, a generous helping of bottled Italian seasonings, and a half cup of fat free half and half instead of the whipping cream. In addition, I had some packages of the red pepper flakes from the local pizzaria and I used 3 of those. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Mason

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
MMMMM! Very good! I made this just as suggested and thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MisNCy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breda, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This went over well with everyone at my house (me, my husband, and our almost-2-year-old). It's not the most memorable pasta dish I have ever had, but it's a solid, good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I made this without the sausage because my boyfriend and I are vegetarian. I increased the salt to one teaspoon because I omitted the sausage, and served it with cheese ravioli (instead of penne) to mimic the pasta with vodka sauce at Brio. I also added a few tablespoons of fresh basil. It was delicious and my boyfriend wants me to make it again. I've never made a vodka sauce before and this was very easy! I don't know if this made a difference, but I used San Marzano crushed tomatoes. YUM! EDIT: Forgot to mention that I also added an additional four cloves of ROASTED sliced garlic right at the end (with the parsley and basil) to mimic Brio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Haun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Used veggie sausage since we are meat-free. My husband is not a big pasta fan but he gobbled this up. I did add an onion with the garlic. Also used half and half and increased the vodka to 1/4 cup. Nice and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Great recipe. In the future, I am going to double the amount of sausage, the sausage gets lost in the sauce. This time I increased the vodka to a 1/4 cup, doubled the amount of whipping cream and then I added some sugar to make the sauce sweeter. Even my picky three year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This was fabulous!! I did add 2 diced shallots and 1/2 red bell pepper to the sausage while it was browning. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it was a hit with both my husband and 17 year old son. Definitely a repeat! Can't wait to try the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 948) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States