Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
just didn't care for it. Much prefer the sauce just as it was (prior to adding vodka & cream). So sorry ... but will definitely make the basic sauce again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Tastes great and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I loved the spicy of it; was a little too spicy for the kids although I used almost half of the red pepper suggested. I would definitely try it again but with chicken. I can only imagine how good that would taste. I love a good pasta and sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shontae Blocker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Nickerson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I've made this recipe so many times and it's an easy go-to recipe when in the pasta mood. I have made the recipe exactly as written which is excellent. Now that I so familiar with it, I've tweaked it a bit into my own version, which tastes just as good, if not better, just a bit healthier. I replace the regular Italian sausage with Turkey Italian sausage. Sausage creates it's own "oil", so I just coat my pan with Pam before cooking. Instead of heavy whipping cream, I use fat-free evaporated milk or fat-free half and half (whichever I have on hand). I use fresh tomatoes and put them in the food processor (same measurements that the recipe calls for). Everything else I keep the same. Using the fresh tomatoes instead of the canned gives it that fresher taste and cuts down on that extra sodium. Great pasta dish with a little less guilt. No matter which way you make it, it's quick, easy and won't disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Substituted turkey sausage, no crushed red pepper (kids don't like spicy), added fresh red peppers, baby bellas & spinach..was a hit. Def will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
The sauce itself was pretty good, but I added sweet italian sausage, which I think was a mistake. If I were to make this again, I would either leave the meat out or try some bits of bacon instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Used Italian chicken sausage and turned out great. Made enough to freeze for a no cooking night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I make this on a regular basis. I'm actually going to make it tomorrow night for some guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I loved this recipe. I used Chicken Italian sausage and I changed the crushed tomatoes to those with basil and garlic. I simmered the mixture longer than 15 minutes to get it a little thicker. I loved it because it was fast enough to do on a night that I work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 951) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States