Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This went over well with everyone at my house (me, my husband, and our almost-2-year-old). It's not the most memorable pasta dish I have ever had, but it's a solid, good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I made this without the sausage because my boyfriend and I are vegetarian. I increased the salt to one teaspoon because I omitted the sausage, and served it with cheese ravioli (instead of penne) to mimic the pasta with vodka sauce at Brio. I also added a few tablespoons of fresh basil. It was delicious and my boyfriend wants me to make it again. I've never made a vodka sauce before and this was very easy! I don't know if this made a difference, but I used San Marzano crushed tomatoes. YUM! EDIT: Forgot to mention that I also added an additional four cloves of ROASTED sliced garlic right at the end (with the parsley and basil) to mimic Brio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Used veggie sausage since we are meat-free. My husband is not a big pasta fan but he gobbled this up. I did add an onion with the garlic. Also used half and half and increased the vodka to 1/4 cup. Nice and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Great recipe. In the future, I am going to double the amount of sausage, the sausage gets lost in the sauce. This time I increased the vodka to a 1/4 cup, doubled the amount of whipping cream and then I added some sugar to make the sauce sweeter. Even my picky three year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This was fabulous!! I did add 2 diced shallots and 1/2 red bell pepper to the sausage while it was browning. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it was a hit with both my husband and 17 year old son. Definitely a repeat! Can't wait to try the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Did not have sausage so used some prosciutto and was still great. Followed everything else in recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Major

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Very tasty and easy to make. Makes a lot! We followed the recipe to a tea - except we didn't use vodka. We didn't have it and it was a big expense. We subbed water for it and still thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Had gone to Costco and had bought some Vodka, so I thought I would give this a try. I had heard of Vodka sauce but never made it. I add more Vodka and Beef broth and cream along with Thyme and Garlic and it was great! My husband came in and said he would NOT LIKE this but when he tried it he loved it. Keeper and easy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This recipe looked good in the pan but was not. It seemed to be very bitter. I don't know if adding some sugar would have helped but it just had a wierd taste and I followed it to the letter. Unfortunately, I had to dump the rest of the pasta out because we didn't like it. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raych04

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 894) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States