Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I've made this recipe so many times and it's an easy go-to recipe when in the pasta mood. I have made the recipe exactly as written which is excellent. Now that I so familiar with it, I've tweaked it a bit into my own version, which tastes just as good, if not better, just a bit healthier. I replace the regular Italian sausage with Turkey Italian sausage. Sausage creates it's own "oil", so I just coat my pan with Pam before cooking. Instead of heavy whipping cream, I use fat-free evaporated milk or fat-free half and half (whichever I have on hand). I use fresh tomatoes and put them in the food processor (same measurements that the recipe calls for). Everything else I keep the same. Using the fresh tomatoes instead of the canned gives it that fresher taste and cuts down on that extra sodium. Great pasta dish with a little less guilt. No matter which way you make it, it's quick, easy and won't disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Substituted turkey sausage, no crushed red pepper (kids don't like spicy), added fresh red peppers, baby bellas & spinach..was a hit. Def will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
The sauce itself was pretty good, but I added sweet italian sausage, which I think was a mistake. If I were to make this again, I would either leave the meat out or try some bits of bacon instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Used Italian chicken sausage and turned out great. Made enough to freeze for a no cooking night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I make this on a regular basis. I'm actually going to make it tomorrow night for some guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I loved this recipe. I used Chicken Italian sausage and I changed the crushed tomatoes to those with basil and garlic. I simmered the mixture longer than 15 minutes to get it a little thicker. I loved it because it was fast enough to do on a night that I work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
So yummy!! Added some onions but that's it! My family devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This recipe is fantastic !! A perfect blend of everything and loved the light sauce.Definitely saving this and making it again. My Picky DH and picky kids ate everything and my DH had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I love this pasta dish. It's simple and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erica Melies
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Made it tonight using some suggestions from other reviewers. I started with panchetta before cooking up the sausage. Also increased the heavy whipping cream to 3/4 cup and vodka to 1/4'cup, increased red pepper to 1 tbsp, added frozen spinach and topped with fresh shaved parmesan cheese. My husband and I loved it. Definitely a make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 897) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States