Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Very good but... I personally think it was too much pasta for this recipe; half a lb. would've been perfect. I slightly modified the recipe by adding 2 tbsp. chopped red onion, 6 thinly sliced white mushrooms, increased vodka by a 1/4 cup, and using spicy Italian instead of sweet (couldn't find it). I browned the sausage, then drained the fat, return sausage to skillet and then sautéed garlic, onion, mushrooms and red pepper flakes, stirring until garlic browned. Also I didn't add any salt...my husband and I skip it in all our recipes. We'd rather use fresh herbs and spices instead. It is definitely a keeper but next time either I double the sauce or I cut down half the amount of pasta. Thank you Star Pooley for sharing with us this fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancineL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
This was delicious! I bought ground sausage for pizza and used that in place of removing the casing off links, but this was phenomenal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I made this today without the sausage. It was superb. Restaurant quality. Was generous with the vodka and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Outstanding recipe! Following another review I added 3oz Pancetta diced browned it lightly, added the sausage and browned the two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I loved the kick that the crushed red pepper added! I followed this recipe to a tee and it was perfect! No changes needed. My family couldn't get enough of it and we all agreed that it was restaurant worthy. This recipe will most definitely become a regular and a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowgirl1224

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Delicious and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Basic pasta and tomato sauce. If you are attempting this recipe be aware that you will need to add more seasonings to help the dish acquire more taste. Appreciate the base of the recipe but more is needed to accomplish tasty I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
It was awesome! Sliced italian sausage, and seared it on both sides. Added some slice mushrooms and diced sweet peppers and let that cook a bit. Added 2 cups of my home canned tomatoes (which I pured in a blender) and let simmer for 1/2 hour. Added a jar of Classico Tomato Vodka sauce and just heated until alittle bubblely. 5 minutes before serving added 3/4 cups of fresh parsley coarsely chopped. Severed over noodles and sprinkled with feta chesse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Great recipe. Our whole family loved it. The only modification I made was that I added about a cup of frozen peas to the sauce just before I added the vodka and cream. We'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I have been making this dish for over 5 years exactly as stated. Oh, I've been tempted to add more sausage but haven't. I usually try these recipes as stated the first time, unless prior reviews indicate some changes would be beneficial, i.e.: way too much butter or way too much cream, etc. This is one of those I won't be tinkering with. On occasion I have forgotten to add the vodka and didn't really notice a difference. This dish is like American Chop Suey on steroids. Oh, and it's easy! Thank you Star Pooley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS33W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoughton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 895) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States