Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I made this the first time exactly as written. It was 5 stars for sure. I've also made a reduced fat version... the good news is that is was just as good. Make with turkey italian sausage (hot), no olive oil, and fat free half and half. Still really good although the sauce was too thin because of heavy cream substitute. I think if you substitute cream cheese (low fat) for the heavy cream you could get a really nice lower fat version without losing the creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This dish is awesome! It is completely restaurant quality! I would suggest this to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maggie2347
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Made it with gluten-free penne rigate. Topped with some fresh chopped parsley and fresh grated reggiano. Excellent! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This was really good! I've never made a tomato cream sauce before and I never will again without the vodka. I modified the recipe a little for experiment's sake. I replaced the olive oil and sausage with coconut oil and kielbasa. I sautéed 1/2 onion and 1 can mushrooms in with the garlic and added parsley flakes with the crushed tomatoes. The sauce has perfect consistency and the crushed red pepper adds a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I love this recipe! I've made it a few times and didn't feel that the recipe needed any alterations :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashtinrae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
It turned out really well, although I might use a red chili pepper vodka next time. Also, one modification I did make, based on some other reviews, is that in addition to the crushed tomatoes, I also added a jar of pasta sauce. Thinking fresh basil could also be a nice addition, but all in all, well received by my husband, and I liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Make a few adjustments, and this dish gets better! I did this recipe a bit differently than instructed. The first time I used cream, but it just didn't thicken correctly and I wasn't as big a fan of how it shaped the dish--it made is very liquidy and took the flavor out of the meat and vegetables. So the second time I did not use the vodka or the cream, and it tasted very good! The canned tomatoes adds a natural sauce to it, so adding cream isn't necessary. I also added cut up green beans, peas, and mushrooms to give it more flavor and more of a nutritional value. I also substituted the Italian sausage for poultry Italian sausage (note: it taste just as good with tofu, for my vegetarian friends!). Lastly, as I'm sure everyone knows, you can use whatever pasta you want! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Big hit with the whole family! Might double the sauce next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
My family loves it, cut the pepper flake amount in half if serving to little ones. We like to add fresh mozzarella on top and also do 3/4 C heavy cream and 1/4 C vodka
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 947) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States