Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This was fabulous!! I did add 2 diced shallots and 1/2 red bell pepper to the sausage while it was browning. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it was a hit with both my husband and 17 year old son. Definitely a repeat! Can't wait to try the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Did not have sausage so used some prosciutto and was still great. Followed everything else in recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Major

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Very tasty and easy to make. Makes a lot! We followed the recipe to a tea - except we didn't use vodka. We didn't have it and it was a big expense. We subbed water for it and still thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Had gone to Costco and had bought some Vodka, so I thought I would give this a try. I had heard of Vodka sauce but never made it. I add more Vodka and Beef broth and cream along with Thyme and Garlic and it was great! My husband came in and said he would NOT LIKE this but when he tried it he loved it. Keeper and easy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This recipe looked good in the pan but was not. It seemed to be very bitter. I don't know if adding some sugar would have helped but it just had a wierd taste and I followed it to the letter. Unfortunately, I had to dump the rest of the pasta out because we didn't like it. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raych04

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Followed the recipe pretty much as written but i did increase sausage to a full pound. And dont second guess amount of red pepper flakes like I did. The amount in recipe will be plenty! I doubled and it was very spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I loved this recipe. It was flavorful and quick. I used Trader Joe's mild italian chicken sausages which made it budget friendly too. They're $3.99! I'll definitely make it regularly. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Love this sooo much! A little bit spicy, so maybe not kid-friendly. My two-year old didn't like it, but my boyfriend and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is so yummy! I love it. I used ground Italian HOT sausage instead of links. It's simpler that way! It won't get lost in the sauce as long as you don't break it apart into tiny pieces. My family loves their meat so I made sure it was at least a quarter size for each beef. I've also used hot brats and they worked just as well! I did not add any olive oil when using the ground Italian sausage. I also did not add any salt besides to the boiling water for the pasta. I felt silly using Grey Goose vodka but that was all I had! Poured whatever was left in the bottle. I also have used Riesling for my 2nd time and it was just fine! I also added a tablespoon or two of Italian seasoning. The best part is that it is SO easy and SO yummy! Can't go wrong with that:) I think this recipe will still be fine without the vodka or any alcohol if you don't have it, but then again it wouldn't be called vodka tomato cream :P P.S. I really think Italian seasoning helps a LOT with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I've never reviewed a recipe before but this one really got my attention. The only thing I did differently was I used mild Italian sausage instead of sweet Italian. That's only before the store I went to did not have sweet Italian sausage. Probably a bit to spicy for my bf's taste because of that but it still came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 889) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States