Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Restaurant quality! I used about twice the meat, and it seemed perfect to me. Even my small children ate it easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I am sure this recipe would be great as it is but I made just a few changes to accomodate what I had on hand. I used a half pound of 97/3% lean ground round and a half pound of ground sweet Italian turkey sausage,canned tomatoes with Italian seasonings, a generous helping of bottled Italian seasonings, and a half cup of fat free half and half instead of the whipping cream. In addition, I had some packages of the red pepper flakes from the local pizzaria and I used 3 of those. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Mason

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
MMMMM! Very good! I made this just as suggested and thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MisNCy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breda, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This went over well with everyone at my house (me, my husband, and our almost-2-year-old). It's not the most memorable pasta dish I have ever had, but it's a solid, good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I made this without the sausage because my boyfriend and I are vegetarian. I increased the salt to one teaspoon because I omitted the sausage, and served it with cheese ravioli (instead of penne) to mimic the pasta with vodka sauce at Brio. I also added a few tablespoons of fresh basil. It was delicious and my boyfriend wants me to make it again. I've never made a vodka sauce before and this was very easy! I don't know if this made a difference, but I used San Marzano crushed tomatoes. YUM! EDIT: Forgot to mention that I also added an additional four cloves of ROASTED sliced garlic right at the end (with the parsley and basil) to mimic Brio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Haun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Used veggie sausage since we are meat-free. My husband is not a big pasta fan but he gobbled this up. I did add an onion with the garlic. Also used half and half and increased the vodka to 1/4 cup. Nice and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Great recipe. In the future, I am going to double the amount of sausage, the sausage gets lost in the sauce. This time I increased the vodka to a 1/4 cup, doubled the amount of whipping cream and then I added some sugar to make the sauce sweeter. Even my picky three year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This was fabulous!! I did add 2 diced shallots and 1/2 red bell pepper to the sausage while it was browning. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it was a hit with both my husband and 17 year old son. Definitely a repeat! Can't wait to try the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Did not have sausage so used some prosciutto and was still great. Followed everything else in recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Major

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 947) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States