Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
It was awesome! Sliced italian sausage, and seared it on both sides. Added some slice mushrooms and diced sweet peppers and let that cook a bit. Added 2 cups of my home canned tomatoes (which I pured in a blender) and let simmer for 1/2 hour. Added a jar of Classico Tomato Vodka sauce and just heated until alittle bubblely. 5 minutes before serving added 3/4 cups of fresh parsley coarsely chopped. Severed over noodles and sprinkled with feta chesse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Great recipe. Our whole family loved it. The only modification I made was that I added about a cup of frozen peas to the sauce just before I added the vodka and cream. We'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I have been making this dish for over 5 years exactly as stated. Oh, I've been tempted to add more sausage but haven't. I usually try these recipes as stated the first time, unless prior reviews indicate some changes would be beneficial, i.e.: way too much butter or way too much cream, etc. This is one of those I won't be tinkering with. On occasion I have forgotten to add the vodka and didn't really notice a difference. This dish is like American Chop Suey on steroids. Oh, and it's easy! Thank you Star Pooley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS33W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoughton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Delicious! I did use a pound of sausage (hot Italian), so I omitted the red pepper flakes. Also, I used a little more than 1/4 cup of vodka and used the salt to taste. Super simple to make and very tasty...this is a keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I think it's just four stars as written, but FIVE stars by doubling the cream. Also, when I ran out of vodka, I used dry vermouth and it also tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was an excellent recipe. We will be eating the leftovers tomorrow. I don't really care for leftovers and to anticipate having some means it is a memoriable meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Absolutely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Amazing just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mahwah, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Loved this, though for my family 1/2 t red pepper flakes was a little too much, just a little. I also added some red, yellow and orange peppers for some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Made this for our bowling league Christmas party. I went completely. I had to add some ingredients because I tripled the recipe and added the sauce too early to the pasta and it thicken up. By adding V-8, more vodka and cream with franks to give it a kick I got to the right consistancy of sauce. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 968) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States