Penne with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Did not enjoy the falovr of shrimp and tomatoes. Very bland. Liked the idea of the dish, just needs some fine tuning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Thought the sauce was light but favorful. Added a bit more garlic and some oragano. Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Needed some zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This was excellent! Used the list of ingredients as stated, with the minor change of using fresh tomatoes instead of canned. I increased the garlic, and used less red pepper, based on our tastes. This is a keeper and will definitely be made again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honduras Missionary Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was very good! I used fresh tomatoes and added aome chives. I served it over wheat linguine. Very good! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Novelty, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Excellent! My changes: I used 4 cloves of garlic and 4 T chopped fresh basil and sauteed those with the onion. I added only 1 can of diced tomatoes (the kind with basil, garlic and oregano), and about 1/3 cup of white wine. I added a bit of sea salt, fresh ground pepper, and 1/4 T crushed red pepper. I let that simmer, but not for the full 10 minutes, as I felt it was reducing quickly. Added the shrimp, and when finished I served it over whole wheat couscous with freshly grated romano. Lots of flavor with a little kick, but still light and healthy. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This recipe is excellent! It is a light dish with a lot of flavor! I took the previous suggestion to partially cook the shrimp first in the olive oil, garlic and small pinch of salt first for added flavor. I removed the shrimp and added it back in at the end to finish cooking and absorb the flavor of the dish. My kids are not big tomato fans, so I only used one 1 can of flavored tomaotes (diced tomatoes with onions, garlic and oregano) and I chopped up some fresh basil and threw that in as well. Definitely a keeper in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
The 4 stars is for when I made it as the recipe stated. I think it was a little bland. It's just me and the hubby so I made enough pasta for 2, kept the shrimp, onion and garlic as stated (we love both). I used only 1 can of the diced tomatoes, did 1/2 cup of Sauvignon Blanc and added a little bit of salt, some cracked pepper, and basil. I just eye balled it so I have no measurements to give. We loved it with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I usually don't review recipes but this one was good I had to. I have tried several pasta and shrimp recipes and this one is 2 die for. However I did make some changes just because I didn't have all on hand. I used chicken stock instead of white wine, angel hair pasta instead of penne and I added basil to it. It was by far the best thing I have tasted in a very long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I drained and saved the liquid off of one can of the tomatoes and increased the wine to 1/2 cup.... I also added about 6 cloves of minced garlic, 1 tsp basil, 1 tsp oregano, and 2 tsp red pepper flakes. After the liquid was reduced, I added heavy cream for a cream sauce... I used the reserved liquid from the tomatoes to thin it up some since it was a little too thick...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States