Penne with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This recipe is excellent! It is a light dish with a lot of flavor! I took the previous suggestion to partially cook the shrimp first in the olive oil, garlic and small pinch of salt first for added flavor. I removed the shrimp and added it back in at the end to finish cooking and absorb the flavor of the dish. My kids are not big tomato fans, so I only used one 1 can of flavored tomaotes (diced tomatoes with onions, garlic and oregano) and I chopped up some fresh basil and threw that in as well. Definitely a keeper in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
The 4 stars is for when I made it as the recipe stated. I think it was a little bland. It's just me and the hubby so I made enough pasta for 2, kept the shrimp, onion and garlic as stated (we love both). I used only 1 can of the diced tomatoes, did 1/2 cup of Sauvignon Blanc and added a little bit of salt, some cracked pepper, and basil. I just eye balled it so I have no measurements to give. We loved it with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I usually don't review recipes but this one was good I had to. I have tried several pasta and shrimp recipes and this one is 2 die for. However I did make some changes just because I didn't have all on hand. I used chicken stock instead of white wine, angel hair pasta instead of penne and I added basil to it. It was by far the best thing I have tasted in a very long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I drained and saved the liquid off of one can of the tomatoes and increased the wine to 1/2 cup.... I also added about 6 cloves of minced garlic, 1 tsp basil, 1 tsp oregano, and 2 tsp red pepper flakes. After the liquid was reduced, I added heavy cream for a cream sauce... I used the reserved liquid from the tomatoes to thin it up some since it was a little too thick...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was a very light and easy dish. I took into account the reviews stating it was bland and used a flavoured canned tomato mixture, as well as adding extra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Photo by BK
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
this was pretty good - I followed the recipe pretty closely, with a few exceptions; I didn't have penne, so used rotini. I also used diced tomatoes with green chilis as some others had recommended. It was good -but pretty spicy, so if you don't like spice, I would recommend one with green chili/one without... or both with no green chilis. I added a dash of italian seasoning, as well. Instead of mixing the parmesean in, we sprinkled it on top so we could decide how much we wanted; 1 c. seemed a lot for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This recipe tasted better than Olive Garden when I created it. Instead of can tomatoes, I used fresh tomatoes and instead of Parmesan cheese I used Romano cheese. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
My husband actually made this for dinner one night and it turned out great! Great taste and super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Excellent recipe. Some reviewers thought that it was a little bland so instead of canned diced tomatoes, I added canned diced tomatoes with green chillies. If you like spicey food, you will love it with the this change. Another possibility....add one can of diced tomatoes with green chillies and one plain diced tomatoes for a not so spicy, but still flavorful meal. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
YUM!! I did tweak it a little for my families liking. We are from South Louisiana so I had to add some more flavoring. I used more onion and garlic, seasoned the sauce w/ salt and pepper. I also added a tsp of sugar! I sauteed the shrimp in butter, salt, pepper, garlic powder and squeezed some lemon. I cooked them till they were just done and added them to the sauce (make sure to drain the juice). It's such a great flavor. Added a side of corn and some garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoeLeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States