Penne with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I used this as a base for my recipe so my review is not a "true review" but I love what I made. I used chicken instead of shrimp. As other reviewers did, I added seasonings to this. I used Italian seasoning, garlic poweder (in addition to the fresh), basil and chili flakes. I also added peas and mushrooms to it. It was DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Vierra

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Great! But I agree the dish didn't have enough of a "hit." I just sauteed the shrimp in butter and creole seasoning and laid on top of the penne with the sauce. Wonderful and thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I added fresh, sliced mushrooms to this and it was delicious. Will make again but may try adding artichoke hearts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Velgos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
With a couple alterations, i thought this dish was absolutely delicious. I used only one can of tomatoes with jalepenos in them and half a pound of small penne and added more garlic and italian seasoning, basil and hot pepper seeds and about a tablespoon of sugar. I have been looking for a recipe like this for a long time and am so happy to have found this one. Next time I am going to use all the same things but add spicy italian sausage and some green peppers instead of the shrimp just for something different. We will definitely have this many more times. The family loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Wow! This was declicious...although I did make some changes. I hate to review a recipe based on changes I made, but too many people said it was bland for me not to take note. My changes were: Use whole wheat penne; increase garlic to 2 tbls.; add 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper, 1/2 tsp. black pepper, 1 tsp. Italian seasoning, 1 tsp. dried basil. I used Contessa frozen shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
It was a very simple and fast meal. The fact that it was healthy was great too. I personally like thicker sauce so I let is simmer for a while to thicken it up. And for a little more spicier flavor I added a bit of white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onehottmama22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I can only give this a 3 star (2 star seemed too harsh). This wasn't bad, but it wasn't spectacular. I found it to be too plain. Basically all this is, is cans of tomatoes with shrimp over pasta. I doubt I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Very good. I used the suggestion to add salt, pepper, Italian Seasoning, and basil and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This was very good, I used Chicken broth instead of wine, added some crushed red pepper and some tomato sauce to thicken it, otherwise it would have been to watery. Also, it needs more garlic that the recipe states. I like these base recipes, they allow you to adjust to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This is very tasty and light, which I like. I'll definitely be making this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States