Penne with Sausage and Broccoli Rabe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Spicy lovers unite! Wow, is this good! I'm so glad I stumbled across this recipe! The only changes I made were to use broccolini instead of broccoli rabe (since my market didn't have any today) and I cut down on the crushed red pepper to about 2 tsp instead of 1 tbsp. It was still plenty spicy and delicious! I also used whole wheat penne and half grated/half shredded parmesan. Next time I probably won't cook up a full box of pasta, because I didn't end up using all of it. I think 2/3 of a box suits our tastes. Hubby warned me before dinner that he wasn't hungry, so he only had me dish up a small portion. Well guess who went back for seconds and thirds! :) A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
My husband and I loved it! Instead of rabe i just had normal Broccoli and it was delicious!!! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ayellene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: League City, Texas, USA
Photo by apron_baker
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
very good dish but i did a few things different. I cooked the sausages longer than 4 minuets because they were still not done and i used rigatoni noodles. I also used more cheese since i love cheese. Overall this was a great dinner and lunch. I brought some to work with me the next day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apron_baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This is delicious, quick and easy! I couldn't find any broccoli rabe, so I just used regular broccoli. I followed another reviewers suggestion and only used 2 tsp of the red pepper flakes.. Perfect spicyness factor. For those who don't like spice I would suggest to skip the flakes and just use some diced red or green pepper... I have made this recipe a few times as stated, but when I made it today, I had some Alfredo sauce in the fridge.. I added some of that at the end of cooking (not much, just enough to coat it.. Maybe 1/4 or 1/3cup?) and it didn't change the flavor, but was really good! Just creamier/added to the sauce..any pasta noodle would work well (bowtie, elbow, fettucini, ect) a sprinkle of fresh parm ontop is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Right on!, Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MR. YO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rutledge, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I really liked this but a pasta like this needs a little fresh herbs! I added a bit of parsley and basil in the end. Really good! My kids are troopers in the spice department but a tablespoon of red pepper flakes would be way too much. Serve them at the table for people to add on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geneen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I made this recipe for dinner tonight and it was WAY too spicy for me, despite using mild Italian sausage and reducing the red pepper flakes to 2 teaspoons rather than a tablespoon (as suggested by previous posters). The heat from the red pepper flakes overwhelmed the other flavors in the dish in my opinion. However, my husband (who likes spicy food) loved the dish and is looking forward to the leftovers! I think spinach, kale or broccoli could easily be substituted for the broccoli rabe in this recipe if you adjusted the cooking times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I used whole wheat rotini and broccoli because I did not have broccoli rabe. It was delicious. I also added fiery diced tomatoes to the skillet with the sausage to make it into more of a sauce. After I removed the skillet with the garlic, red pepper flakes, sausage, and diced tomatoes from the heat, I added some mascarpone cheese to make the sauce a little creamy. Stir the mascarpone cheese with the sausage mixture until incorporated. I highly recommend this dish as a quick dinner! It is a very easy dish to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Halved the red pepper cause I'm not crazy about spice, and this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
It's been a long time since I've done a review and this recipe is great and has good potential. As is, I would give the recipe 4 stars according to my tastes, but it can be easily changed to get 5. I modified my version also; I used one small packet of crushed peppers because that was all I had on hand and it turned out to be a perfect amount of heat. I also used tofurky italian tomato & basil faux sausage as I'm vegetarian. This was good, but I would probably use a different flavor next time, and this has no bearing on my rating, just personal tastes. One change that I think helped a lot was to add about half a cup of some of my own homemade marinara sauce, just to keep everything moist and add a little bit of flavor. Finally, I used a 14 oz. box of whole wheat penne and probably could have been just fine using about 2/3 of a box. Before this I had never had broccoli rabe/rapini and I'm glad it came in my CSA box, it and this recipe are very good, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States