Penne with Sausage and Broccoli Rabe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
If we could give 1/2 stars, this would be 3.5 stars. We didn't use all of the red pepper flakes as I know it would have been too hot for us. I had some cherry tomatoes from the garden, so I cut them in half and threw some in. I wish I had added more. I think this was just missing something. It wasn't at all bad, but it didn't knock our socks off. Next time I might add some red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Penne with Sausage & Broccoli Rabe Haiku: "Cough, sputter, gasp! This was one spicy entrée! Kicked me in the @$$!" Kroger didn't have broccoli rabe so subbed broccoli, and I added some red bell pepper for color, but kept everything else the same, but woaaaah, I love spicy food and every bite of this bit me back. We loved it though, so I'd give it 5 stars next go-around when I halve the red pepper flakes, or use regular Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
My family of teenagers and a husband actually gave me compliments on this recipe. I used regular broccoli and cherry tomatoes. Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This was delicious and fast easy. I use vegetable base in the pasta liquid to cut the bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I didn't use the reserved pasta water to cook the broccoli rabe sausage. Instead I used chicken broth, it takes some of the bitterness out of the broccoli rabe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I made this with broccoli instead of the rabe, as it wasn't available in our local store. I'm taking time to comment on it because I think that using 1 tablespoon of crushed red pepper flakes, as called for, might actually injure people! Omigosh! I cut it back to 1 teaspoon, and we still found it so spicy that many of the people to whom I served it wouldn't eat it. The hot Italian sausage was tasty but the pepper flakes definitely need to be adjusted. I'm a spicy food lover, but I write to caution folks to go light on the pepper flakes. I like a pasta recipe that's not smothered in sauce, so I'd give this another go with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is a staple recipe in our house now! I do make a few tweaks though: I use sweet Italian turkey sausage to reduce the fat a bit -- I've made it this way and regular, and no one noticed any difference. I also add a chopped onion, and saute it with the sausage. At the end, I add a jar of light Alfredo sauce (for convenience! making your own would surely be better) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
It's been a long time since I've done a review and this recipe is great and has good potential. As is, I would give the recipe 4 stars according to my tastes, but it can be easily changed to get 5. I modified my version also; I used one small packet of crushed peppers because that was all I had on hand and it turned out to be a perfect amount of heat. I also used tofurky italian tomato & basil faux sausage as I'm vegetarian. This was good, but I would probably use a different flavor next time, and this has no bearing on my rating, just personal tastes. One change that I think helped a lot was to add about half a cup of some of my own homemade marinara sauce, just to keep everything moist and add a little bit of flavor. Finally, I used a 14 oz. box of whole wheat penne and probably could have been just fine using about 2/3 of a box. Before this I had never had broccoli rabe/rapini and I'm glad it came in my CSA box, it and this recipe are very good, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Halved the red pepper cause I'm not crazy about spice, and this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Torrey and Bruce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I used whole wheat rotini and broccoli because I did not have broccoli rabe. It was delicious. I also added fiery diced tomatoes to the skillet with the sausage to make it into more of a sauce. After I removed the skillet with the garlic, red pepper flakes, sausage, and diced tomatoes from the heat, I added some mascarpone cheese to make the sauce a little creamy. Stir the mascarpone cheese with the sausage mixture until incorporated. I highly recommend this dish as a quick dinner! It is a very easy dish to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States