Penne with Sausage and Broccoli Rabe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
I make this quite often but I add a chicken bouillon cube to the pasta water that I add to the dish. It adds a really great flavor to the dish. I also use orechiette and ground sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise PK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Graceyrose
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I used hot chicken sausage and broccoli rabe from a local farm which added to an already great meal. I did not add the full amount of red pepper at first because I was unsure how spicey my sausage was but added more as the sausage and broccoli rabe were cooking together at the end. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graceyrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Very good we loved it, the ONLY THING I changed was the amount of pepper flakes. I will definitely be making this again! !!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Simple, easy and yummy. I have made this twice and was pleased both times. I followed the recipe with a few adjustments. I used 1 lb. bulk mild Italian sausage, 2 bunches broccolini (1 head regular broccoli would also work) and cut the red pepper flakes down to 1 heaping tsp. I also added sun dried tomatoes (canned in oil and halved) and chicken stock in place of the water, and a little white wine. I think the sun dried tomatoes add a lot to the flavor of this dish. I used orecchiette pasta which I think holds up to the crumbled sausage better than penne. Voila. Easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This is a good dish. Mine was too salty though so I will put NO or little salt in the water next time and also make my own sausage to control the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
If we could give 1/2 stars, this would be 3.5 stars. We didn't use all of the red pepper flakes as I know it would have been too hot for us. I had some cherry tomatoes from the garden, so I cut them in half and threw some in. I wish I had added more. I think this was just missing something. It wasn't at all bad, but it didn't knock our socks off. Next time I might add some red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Penne with Sausage & Broccoli Rabe Haiku: "Cough, sputter, gasp! This was one spicy entrée! Kicked me in the @$$!" Kroger didn't have broccoli rabe so subbed broccoli, and I added some red bell pepper for color, but kept everything else the same, but woaaaah, I love spicy food and every bite of this bit me back. We loved it though, so I'd give it 5 stars next go-around when I halve the red pepper flakes, or use regular Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
My family of teenagers and a husband actually gave me compliments on this recipe. I used regular broccoli and cherry tomatoes. Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This was delicious and fast easy. I use vegetable base in the pasta liquid to cut the bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I didn't use the reserved pasta water to cook the broccoli rabe sausage. Instead I used chicken broth, it takes some of the bitterness out of the broccoli rabe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States