Penne with Red Pepper Sauce and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Totally LOVED this recipe, as with my husband and 8yr old son. Plates were polished cleaned with this recipe! All I added that was different was an extra tsp of vinegar instead of the suggested. I also didn't have fresh Parmesan so I used fresh Asiago instead. True, it wasn't very 'saucy' but I don't particularly like pasta that's dripping with sauce. This was just the right amount of sauce for my taste. This dish will remain in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
It's very good but it's definitely lacking something. A bit bland and you do have to adjust the flavor to your liking. I added garlic salt and onion powder. Definitely will add more onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
The flavor of this was EXCELLENT. (And yes, I did have a pretty heavy hand when it came to adding the garlic, cayenne, and vinegar.) Unfortunately, I can't really call it a "sauce" because it was so incredibly thick. I added more olive oil and vinegar to the mixture in the food processor, and even then I had to add milk when I put it back into the pot. It turned out delicious! - but it definitely needed more liquid to make it so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahmarie_co

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Way less pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
The flavor was good, but there wasn't much of it. It seems as if there is an ingredient (some liquid) missing for the sauce. I ended up blending some cream in with the red peppers, because otherwise it was a sticky glop. And even with doing that, it hardly covered all the noodles. It wasn't worth the effort to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This was very ho hum. I didn't like the texture of the sauce. I think that these types of sauces are better prepared with roasted red peppers. Instead I had a lot of little chunks and it didn't really form a sauce. I don't know, I just didn't think it was good enough to expend the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This was delicious. I had to substitute some ingredients as I was cooking with what was on hand. I only had one red pepper and used white cheddar instead of parmesan. I also used gnocchi instead of penne. I will have to try this one again with the prescribed ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salmon, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I agree with the other reviewers who thought the sauce needed more flavor. I used altogether 1 t. salt, and added 1 t. oregano, and it was very good. I also used half the amount of pasta, and added a can of white beans for more protein. It ended up being delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spearfish, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I agree with previous reviewers that there was too much pasta. But beyond that, there wasn't much to be impressed with. I really wanted to like it! It just didn't have enough flavor, sauce or uniqueness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Very good recipe. I used a 1 cup of parmesan and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States