Penne with Red Pepper Sauce and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
I love this recipe. I am married to an Italian (green card Italian, not Mamma Leoni from Brooklyn Italian), and he is always impressed when I make this dish. The almonds are a special touch and it always helps to have fresh fresh fresh ingredients. My kids don't like peppers as a general rule so I never intended to make it for them. It looks like there's cream added to the sauce because of the creamy pink color. Great way to fool those die-hards who refuse to eat anything that is 100% vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
Very good! I couldn't follow this recipe exactly because my food processor was uncooperative. Unable to puree the vegetables, I just tossed them with the other ingredients with wonderful results. This is designed to be served hot, but cold leftovers the following day were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2001
The sauce really is tasty, although I would be inclined to add more garlic, cayenne pepper and balsamic vinegar that it asks for because I found it a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dfrappiea
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I read most of the reviews on this...it came up as recipe of the day...I saw some ..well most say 'bland' and had ideas to spice it up...adding more onion was one idea ...garlic powder...well I left all the ingredients alone for one...adding more garlic cloves...total of 4...and I did take the suggestion of one reviewer of the red peppers...so I roasted my two peppers and let them rest in a closed container so they could cool/ steam before I chopped them...Also ...as the recipe said to puree all...I only roughly chopped my veggies...why do the work of a machine...one big change too was I added my spices while cooking my onions...and I can tell you my sauce is anything but bland...it has a big kick at the end....I think this is a good veg head recipe and if you add sausage or chicken it can fit anyone...thanks!:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dfrappiea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Totally LOVED this recipe, as with my husband and 8yr old son. Plates were polished cleaned with this recipe! All I added that was different was an extra tsp of vinegar instead of the suggested. I also didn't have fresh Parmesan so I used fresh Asiago instead. True, it wasn't very 'saucy' but I don't particularly like pasta that's dripping with sauce. This was just the right amount of sauce for my taste. This dish will remain in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Added half of a cup of almonds instead of 1/4 cup, used around 8 oz of pasta, added double the garlic, 6 ounces of olive oil, 1/2 cup of cheese, triple the pepper, and around 3 ounces of milk at the end. Was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Really not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I agree with the other reviewers who thought the sauce needed more flavor. I used altogether 1 t. salt, and added 1 t. oregano, and it was very good. I also used half the amount of pasta, and added a can of white beans for more protein. It ended up being delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spearfish, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Very yummy and interesting to have a red sauce with no tomatoes in it. A nicely balanced veggie meal that is very different from your standard boring pasta. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliann Tatham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
While this dish sounded great on paper it was messy to make and only ok to taste. I thought that next time I might skipp the blending portion. This would save me clean up and make it not look like red lumpy baby poo. So I only kinda like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States