Penne with Pink Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This was very good. I did use half of the vodka, added a pinch of red pepper flakes and 1 small shallot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine Brook, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe! I usually cook the tomatoes down a lot longer to cut the acid. I also add a lot more garlic and some fresh herbs. It's wonderful with seafood or chicked added. My friends rave over this and it's a common request when they come for dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
This one has always been a favorite of mine.There's nothing like homemade vodka sauce,my fiance' comes back for thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I made this for an Open House I had the day after christmas. It was a HUGE hit, everyone asked for the recipe ... and it makes enough sauce for 2 lbs of pasta. Very easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
it was great! i played around with the sauce since i didnt have the second can of tomatoes and i was missing half a pint of heavy cream- and there was still so much more sauce than needed! you will most def. have too much sauce for 1 pound penne, so you should cut down the tomatoes and cream. i used olive oil instead of butter, just enough to full the bottom of the saucer. i added one more cup of cheese- you can add so much more cheese if you like that extra gooiness! you can play around with the vodka too, i used a little less than a cup. it was delicious, and like i said, i had more sauce than i needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
My wife has made this recipe a number of times for parties and it disappears quickly. this is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VITOS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This sauce is absolutely excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This is everything you want in a dinner recipe -- it is great for all the palates in my family. It's approachable for kids, yet elegant and refined for the grown-ups. And so simple...I followed the recipe exactly, except I used lots more garlic because, well, we love garlic. This recipe also reheats well for lunch the next day. Vodka sauce begs for seafood, in my opinion, so next time I will serve with scallops and shrimp, maybe some lump crab -- but still it was great as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicy Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Excellent, wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Delicious sauce! I must warn though that this is WAY too much sauce for a pound of penne pasta! I froze more than half of it. I also used 1/2 cup of vodka (Not by choice-my husband drank it all!) and it was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States