Penne with Pink Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This sauce is delicious! I cooked up a chicken breast (seasoned with fresh ground pepper, Kosher salt, oregano, basil & thyme) and then made the sauce in the same pan to pick up the extra flavor. I also doubled the amount of garlic. Delicious! Oh, and the 8-10 minute recommendation for the penne cooking time was great--it was shorter than the amount of time listed on the box of penne, but the pasta turned out perfectly al dente. I will make this one again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is a GREAT Vodka Sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masterchef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Its really easy to make and came out delicious. I did substituce plain tomato sauce instead of the crushed tomatoes and it came out excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
absolutely delicious and so easy!! As someone else suggested, I did add a pinch of red pepper - probably about 1/4 - 1/2 teaspoon........just to give it a kick! my boys loved it - and so did I! thanks so much for sharing......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was overall a pretty good recipe. I did make a few changes though. First of all, I doubled the garlic. Then I added fresh sliced mushrooms to the garlic/butter. I only used 1/2 cup of vodka which was just the right amount. For the tomatoes, I used one 28 oz. italian style diced tomatoes and one 6 oz. tomato paste. I used a little extra mozzarella and about a cup of grated parmesan and romano cheese. As far as spices go, I added some basil, oregano, garlic salt, and pepper. Then I marinated 3 large chicken breasts in bottled lemon pepper marinade. I cut the chicken in bite size pieces and cooked them separately. Then I drained the chicken and added it to the sauce. This gave the sauce some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Five stars for ease and for taste. My family loved this!! I made a few changes which cut calories and added flavor: 1. cut the butter to 3 T. 2. Used four cloves of garlic. 3. Cut the vodka to 2/3 cup (otherwise it's pretty strong for kids) 4. Used only one can of crushed tomatoes and added 10 oz. tom. paste with an equal amount of water. 5. Used one cup cream and one cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I made this vodka sauce and I have to say it was FANTASTIC!! The next time I make it I'm adding some asparagus as well as chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I added some crushed red pepper flakes to the vodka and let it set for awhile(30 mins). That added just a little bit of heat to the back ground of the sauce. I also added a little more garlic and some oregano/salt/pepper. It came out just perfect. Makes a TON of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This was wonderful and so easy. Nice for a weeknight dinner. Thanks for a great, easy recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
update: hadnt made this in a while and kids were requesting so I made it but this time I also added Italian seasonings as per reviewer as well as garlic powder and salt to taste. I also put in fresh mushrooms which was great though next time I would sautee them first as they are a bit soggy. Delicious!!!!!!!!!!!! This was deliciously amazing- like eating in a fancy restaurant! I sauteed three cloves of frosen garlic in olive oil, I used one 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes, 3/4 cup of cream and half a cup of vodka and that was perfect in amount and in taste. This also was soooo quick- it took five minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States