Penne with Pink Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This was FANTASTIC! I made just like the recipe said the first time and it was really good but was missing something. 2nd time around I used olive oil instead of butter Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese and Pecorino Romano about a 1/4 cup of each. more mozzarella and 3/4 cup vodka. I also added Basil and some italian seasoning. It was sooo good I literally could drink it! Rave reviews from friends and Family. Will be a regular recipe in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HazelVallette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Carmel, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Too much cream for my taste... Added about 1/2 of what it called for. Overall, enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Tasty, fast, and easy! I garnished with fresh basil as well as topped with baked ricotta... Simply spread container roughly 1 1/2 cups of ricotta on a pan and put in the oven at 450 till it looks like most of the water has been removed, and then finish with a short broil to brown the top. Delicious~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aaron1979

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This sauce is delicious! I cooked up a chicken breast (seasoned with fresh ground pepper, Kosher salt, oregano, basil & thyme) and then made the sauce in the same pan to pick up the extra flavor. I also doubled the amount of garlic. Delicious! Oh, and the 8-10 minute recommendation for the penne cooking time was great--it was shorter than the amount of time listed on the box of penne, but the pasta turned out perfectly al dente. I will make this one again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is a GREAT Vodka Sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masterchef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Its really easy to make and came out delicious. I did substituce plain tomato sauce instead of the crushed tomatoes and it came out excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
absolutely delicious and so easy!! As someone else suggested, I did add a pinch of red pepper - probably about 1/4 - 1/2 teaspoon........just to give it a kick! my boys loved it - and so did I! thanks so much for sharing......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was overall a pretty good recipe. I did make a few changes though. First of all, I doubled the garlic. Then I added fresh sliced mushrooms to the garlic/butter. I only used 1/2 cup of vodka which was just the right amount. For the tomatoes, I used one 28 oz. italian style diced tomatoes and one 6 oz. tomato paste. I used a little extra mozzarella and about a cup of grated parmesan and romano cheese. As far as spices go, I added some basil, oregano, garlic salt, and pepper. Then I marinated 3 large chicken breasts in bottled lemon pepper marinade. I cut the chicken in bite size pieces and cooked them separately. Then I drained the chicken and added it to the sauce. This gave the sauce some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Five stars for ease and for taste. My family loved this!! I made a few changes which cut calories and added flavor: 1. cut the butter to 3 T. 2. Used four cloves of garlic. 3. Cut the vodka to 2/3 cup (otherwise it's pretty strong for kids) 4. Used only one can of crushed tomatoes and added 10 oz. tom. paste with an equal amount of water. 5. Used one cup cream and one cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I made this vodka sauce and I have to say it was FANTASTIC!! The next time I make it I'm adding some asparagus as well as chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Heredia-Higgins

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne and Vodka Sauce

A tomato and cream sauce flavored with sweet, salty pancetta.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States