Penne with Pancetta and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I used Italian sausage (because I had it) and this was wonderful. I added more cream (well, half & half) as others had suggested. This is a great basic recipe that lends itself to improvisation! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I tried this last night and it was very good! I did kind of wing it when it came to ingredient amounts. The only thing I may do differently next time is add in a bit of chicken stock to make it a little less rich. I also added way more than the 1/2 cup of cream, just because I was afraid it wouldn't be enough sauce for us and I'm glad I did. There are a lot of possibilities for the recipe. It would be great w/ chopped tomatoes on top. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Excellent; very much restaurant quality, as has been stated. I doubled the heavy cream and cut the pasta in half, so the sauce to pasta ratio was a little better, and added a bit more Italian seasoning and garlic, but other than that it was by the book. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TAYLORBUNCH
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
My family loved it! It was definitely a restaurant quality dish. I substituted evaporated milk for the cream and added some Parmesan cheese to the sauce during cooking. Fresh tomatoes, fresh basil, and shredded Parmesan garnished the top. We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAYLORBUNCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Very good and we also added chicken and some fresh spinach to the recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
people who have read my reviews in the past know how not so nice i am (read critical) i have only 1 word here heavenly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I made this last night and we all loved it. Like others I didn't have pancetta so I used bacon and sour cream instead of heavy cream, and I added a box of chopped spinach. I think the next time I make it I will triple the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This was absolutely fantastic and easy to make. My family and I loved it and will make this recipe again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Wonderful, simple flavor and easy! Only made a couple "measurement" revisions to original recipe: I used only 11 ounces of Penne as I like to make sure my pasta is not dry. I used a good heaping tablespoon of garlic as we like it, and I doubled the amount of Italian seasoning since it was the only other seasoning. I mixed the Parmesan cheese into the pasta mixture at the end so that it would blend with the sauce. Delicious! Everyone, including picky 5-year old, loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Just like the other reviewers said, this is as good as a restaurant dish. Double the sauce, as others noted, and make plenty...the seconds and thirds for this dish went all around. Will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States