Penne with Pancetta and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TAYLORBUNCH
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
My family loved it! It was definitely a restaurant quality dish. I substituted evaporated milk for the cream and added some Parmesan cheese to the sauce during cooking. Fresh tomatoes, fresh basil, and shredded Parmesan garnished the top. We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAYLORBUNCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I tried this last night and it was very good! I did kind of wing it when it came to ingredient amounts. The only thing I may do differently next time is add in a bit of chicken stock to make it a little less rich. I also added way more than the 1/2 cup of cream, just because I was afraid it wouldn't be enough sauce for us and I'm glad I did. There are a lot of possibilities for the recipe. It would be great w/ chopped tomatoes on top. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This was pretty good however it does need twice the sauce. We used bacon instead of pancetta. And it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I used extra cream as another reviewer suggested. Also extra garlic was a must! This is a great base recipe and would be really nice with any combination of other vegetables added if you wanted. It was so quick and easy to make...I'll make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Stunningly delicious. Truly beyond the ordinary pasta side dish. Smooth, velvety rich, uniquely flavorful and elegant comfort food. So good it was memorable. Be sure to save some of the pasta cooking water to moisten the pasta if it absorbs too much of the sauce. And don't be afraid to add more cream if necessary. Served this with Caper Baked Chicken and Marilyn's Green Beans Italiano, both recipes also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
people who have read my reviews in the past know how not so nice i am (read critical) i have only 1 word here heavenly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Excellent; very much restaurant quality, as has been stated. I doubled the heavy cream and cut the pasta in half, so the sauce to pasta ratio was a little better, and added a bit more Italian seasoning and garlic, but other than that it was by the book. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Very good and we also added chicken and some fresh spinach to the recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Pretty good - I made this because I bought pancetta by accident, thinking it was bacon, and realized when I started cooking it that it wasn't going to go well with scrambled eggs. I wouldn't say this recipe is outstanding, but it was a good way to help use up pancetta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Besides using some of the pancetta grease to saute the mushrooms, didn't change a thing. This is awsome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States