Penne with Pancetta and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I tried this last night and it was very good! I did kind of wing it when it came to ingredient amounts. The only thing I may do differently next time is add in a bit of chicken stock to make it a little less rich. I also added way more than the 1/2 cup of cream, just because I was afraid it wouldn't be enough sauce for us and I'm glad I did. There are a lot of possibilities for the recipe. It would be great w/ chopped tomatoes on top. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I used extra cream as another reviewer suggested. Also extra garlic was a must! This is a great base recipe and would be really nice with any combination of other vegetables added if you wanted. It was so quick and easy to make...I'll make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Pretty good - I made this because I bought pancetta by accident, thinking it was bacon, and realized when I started cooking it that it wasn't going to go well with scrambled eggs. I wouldn't say this recipe is outstanding, but it was a good way to help use up pancetta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TAYLORBUNCH
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
My family loved it! It was definitely a restaurant quality dish. I substituted evaporated milk for the cream and added some Parmesan cheese to the sauce during cooking. Fresh tomatoes, fresh basil, and shredded Parmesan garnished the top. We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAYLORBUNCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This was pretty good however it does need twice the sauce. We used bacon instead of pancetta. And it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Hudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This is a good, basic, recipe. I usually ad a cup of light cream and throw in some fresh, chopped coriander right before removing from stove. It gives it a bit of a tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Cascais

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nyc.chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
A good recipe one can put together without alot of work. When using dried mushroom, reconstitute and then add to the recipe. They will be like fresh when done that way. Would be good enough to serve in a fine restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Very good and we also added chicken and some fresh spinach to the recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
people who have read my reviews in the past know how not so nice i am (read critical) i have only 1 word here heavenly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States