Penne with Pancetta and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This wasn't bad...but not very exciting either. Added boneless skinless chopped chicken thighs and extra garlic. It was still bland. Needs chicken stock to make more sauce and a lot more seasoning. Won't make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Wonderful, simple flavor and easy! Only made a couple "measurement" revisions to original recipe: I used only 11 ounces of Penne as I like to make sure my pasta is not dry. I used a good heaping tablespoon of garlic as we like it, and I doubled the amount of Italian seasoning since it was the only other seasoning. I mixed the Parmesan cheese into the pasta mixture at the end so that it would blend with the sauce. Delicious! Everyone, including picky 5-year old, loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Made this for my family last night and it was met with ho hum's. They complained that the sauce wasn't flavorful enough and that there wasn't enough of it. I substituted regular bacon for the Pancetta and Angel Hair for the Penne. I also doubled the amount of liquid that the recipe called for and it still wasn't enough. If I were to make this again, I would probably add some white wine, butter and some salt to the sauce to give it a bit more pep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jumpy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I used Italian sausage (because I had it) and this was wonderful. I added more cream (well, half & half) as others had suggested. This is a great basic recipe that lends itself to improvisation! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This was absolutely fantastic and easy to make. My family and I loved it and will make this recipe again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Excellent; very much restaurant quality, as has been stated. I doubled the heavy cream and cut the pasta in half, so the sauce to pasta ratio was a little better, and added a bit more Italian seasoning and garlic, but other than that it was by the book. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I made this last night and we all loved it. Like others I didn't have pancetta so I used bacon and sour cream instead of heavy cream, and I added a box of chopped spinach. I think the next time I make it I will triple the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
people who have read my reviews in the past know how not so nice i am (read critical) i have only 1 word here heavenly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Very good and we also added chicken and some fresh spinach to the recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
A good recipe one can put together without alot of work. When using dried mushroom, reconstitute and then add to the recipe. They will be like fresh when done that way. Would be good enough to serve in a fine restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States