Penne with Pancetta and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
A very easy, very flavorful dish! this seriously took like 20 minutes and most of that was waiting for the water to boil. Very pleased with the results, I will be making this again!!! The only suggestion I have is if you are thinking of making it with whole wheat pasta, I wouldn't. We made it with whole wheat penne and the sauce was not think enough to cover the slightly grainy texture. I also threw in a can of drained Italian diced tomatoes, really gave it a nice sweet kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This was absolutely delicious!! My husband had 3 servings and said it could quite possibly be the best thing I've ever made. My kids loved it too! I came across this recipe because I had cream and bacon I needed to use up and this was perfect. I used regular bacon because it's what I had, cooked it in the microwave (crispy) and just crumbled it in when I was mixing it all together at the end. I doubled the sauce and I think that's a must. There can't possibly be enough without it unless you use half as much pasta. I also threw in an extra 1/2 tsp. of basil and added a package of shortcuts chicken to make it a more complete meal. Some garlic bread on the side and it was a hit! I'm already looking forward to the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Besides using some of the pancetta grease to saute the mushrooms, didn't change a thing. This is awsome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Everything we love (pasta, bacon and mushrooms) in one dish! This was prepared and on the table in under 30 minutes. I used what I had on hand - linguini in place of the penne, bacon for the pancetta and added 1 seeded and chopped Roma tomato at the very end for a little freshness. I also used half baby bella and half white mushrooms. Freshly grated Parmigiano Reggiano put it over the top. My only complaint is that if I had not prepared 1 1/2 times the sauce, it would have been too dry for us. Flavorful comfort food that will prepared often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Suntana
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This was delicious. There's no such thing as heavy cream up here in Canada, so I used whipping cream. It didn't thicken up though, so I just put a little flour in a bowl and whisked it with some cream and then whisked that into my sauce in the skillet. It thickened up beautifully and turned our perfect! I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the great recipe! I added a picture of my finished product, check it out. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Super awesome! I used 1/2 pkg. bacon, which I just threw in the food processor after cooking b/c I'm lazy. Also added peas and 1/2 red onion, which I highly recommend. Sauteed the sliced onion in with the mushrooms and cooked the peas until water just begins to boil, and added at the very end. Peas are the perfect addition, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuffin Man

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Yummy!!! Easy and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
very good, I added onion in with the mushrooms, and doubled the reciepe, also served over bowtie pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Delicious! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States