Penne with Pancetta and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I made this for someone who was visiting from another country. Unfortunately, I didn't get to taste it myself, however, they did report that it was "very good". I didn't get the impression that they were just saying that to be kind, it seemed that they really enjoyed this pasta. So, some day I will make it for myself! I'm guessing the rating should be...4 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Delicious dish as written! Second time, I doubled the sauce, used bacon, some cracked black pepper and fresh herbs instead. Next time I'll be adding sun dried tomatoes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hillsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pulaski, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Had little time and this recipe was quick and easy. Didn't have pancetta on hand so..I used a pound of bacon instead, used 3 containers of mushrooms and added frozen peas. I poured the sauce over the pasta and crumbled bacon on time. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This has excellent flavor, however 1/2 cup of cream was not enough. I used 1 cup. This helped to cut the saltiness from that much pancetta and parmesan and helped the overall flavor of the dish. Very good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Couldn't find pancetta so substituted 'hot' as in spicy prosciutto. Also followed the advice of other reviewers and doubled the sauce. It was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary p. furlong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Verdun, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Simply wonderful. I did make quite a few necessary alterations. First, I used 1- 16 oz. pkg. of farfalle noodles. Then I increased the pancetta to 6 oz. & butter to 1 full stick. Next I used I full pkg. of whole mushrooms sliced & 8oz. of frozen peas. Then I doubled the minced garlic to 2 tbsp. & added 3 Tbsp. diced sun dried tomatoes. I also proceeded to add 1/4 cup sliced green onions and 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley. Also wise to give a good sprinkling of Italian seasoning & freshly ground black pepper. Now because I increased so many ingredient quantities, it was also necessary to increase the liquid, add 1 - 16 oz. carton of heavy whipping cream. Heat on med. to med high heat until thickened and bubbly. Add cooked & drained noodles and mix well. Sprinkle with 1/4 cup shredded parmesan cheese and stir. Great to accompany with Caesar salad & Italian style bread. Serious Fricken YUM here! Will most likely serve 6 - 8 hearty portions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Excellent base recipe that can be tweaked to individual taste. Definitely needs more sauce, like most reviews, we doubled it. To our taste we added: 1/2 large shallot, 1 large grilled chicken breast, 4 small seeded and chopped tomatoes and about 5 large fresh basil leaves chopped. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Stunningly delicious. Truly beyond the ordinary pasta side dish. Smooth, velvety rich, uniquely flavorful and elegant comfort food. So good it was memorable. Be sure to save some of the pasta cooking water to moisten the pasta if it absorbs too much of the sauce. And don't be afraid to add more cream if necessary. Served this with Caper Baked Chicken and Marilyn's Green Beans Italiano, both recipes also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This is one of our family's favorite recipes! We fix it often. We do prefer a more delicate bow-tie pasta to the penne, and I add a shallot just before the mushrooms and a teaspoon or so of salt to the sauce at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I came across this recipe on September 22. I've made it three times so far....that's how easy it is and that's how good it is. My husband and I eat out quite a bit and at some really good Italian restaurants. This recipe is every bit as good as any of the dishes I've eaten at these restaurants. I accidentally left the grease from the panchetta in the pan the first time I made it so now I stick to that I also add some chopped sun-dried tomatoes to give it a bit of a kick. My mouth is watering just thinking about it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States