Penne with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This is a great recipe - easy and tasty. Only change I made was to add 3/4 pound peeled/deveined cooked shrimp when the mushrooms were almost done. My picky husband gobbled it down and came back for more. I'll be making it again soon. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Perfect. As is so often the case, simple dishes like this are the best! I used a specialty pasta rather than penne, but made no changes or substitutions, just eyeballed ingredients to taste. Freshly grated Parmesan is a must, as it provides a ton of flavor. Growing up in an Italian family, I can say this is a very traditional way to serve pasta, and lends itself well to including any variety of vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I made this over the weekend, and served it with the "Italian Breaded Pork Chops" recipe from this site. My family loved it! I used baby bellas (as suggested by another reviewer), and added some chopped fresh basil and spinach as well. In addition, I added a little evaporated skim milk to make a bit of a creamy sauce (without having to feel too guilty about the calories). Very good - will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
We really liked this. I doubled the recipe for company and added more garlic than called for (LOVE it). I also cut up boneless chicken breasts and cooked them in olive oil to add to the pasta. I also used grated and lots of shredded parmesan cheese to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
this was was so good! loved it! I used the red pepper flake to kick it up. served it with fried tofu, sprinkled with mrs. dash no salt marinade and a little Lawrys fried it in olive oil and it was to die for. My hubby really loved it! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karlitas_way

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Sooo good! I had made a pizza earlier in the week, so I used sliced portobello mushrooms instead of button mushrooms. Because they were portobellos, I probably only used about 6 oz. of mushrooms. It was still delicious! As per other reviewers' suggestions, I doubled the garlic to 2 cloves and added about 1/4 cup fat-free milk to the butter, oil, mushroom, and garlic skillet to add some creaminess to the sauce. I served this with swedishmilk's "Oven-Roasted Asparagus" recipe. The meal was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I loved this dish. I thought it would be bland but it was great. I added two cloves of garlic and salt and peppered to taste and added some garlic powder at the end to taste. Great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scatcat ~ Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bremond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I made this last night for dinner and my husband and kids loved it, even the picky five year old. The only thing I changed was the type of pasta- I used cheese tortellini instead of the penne pasta, and it was still great! Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Pierce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Thanks for the great recipe. Did everything but add the canned tomatoes and whipping cream. I used the easy alfredo sauce recipe from this site and combined the sauteed veggies. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This was a very simple recipe that I would like to experiment further with, adding shrimp or scallops and maybe even more vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTY_THE_COOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colfax, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States