Penne with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I really liked this recipe! It was easy and quick to make. I did make a few changes - I used baby bella mushrooms, very yummy, doubled the garlic and added some asparagus tips and cooked shrimp to make this a one dish meal. Next time I will probably lower the amount of olive oil a bit, that seemed to be a bit too much and add even more garlic. My son thought it was bland but I thought it was light and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Great concept but next time I would double the mushrooms, garlic and parm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Loved how this turned out! Took some time to take but after it was all said and done it was worth it. If you guys want a better version of this recipe check it out at
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was just okay. From all the good reviews I was expecting more. I thought it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
So simple yet really good! I omitted the oil and just sauteed the mushrooms in butter and added a splash of milk to make a sauce. This is really great as is or you can add a variety of veggies to suit your taste. I used the parmesan cheese in the shaker can, but I know it would taste way better with fresh parmesan. There are so many things you can do with this recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TALULABELLE28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
So simple and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Leonard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I'm giving it a 5 for it's simple ingredients that produced big flavours and ease of execution. Mmmmm...will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Really, this is ridiculously good. My fourth time making it and I absolutely love it. Highly recommend you give it a try, especially if you're a fan of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Sooo good! I had made a pizza earlier in the week, so I used sliced portobello mushrooms instead of button mushrooms. Because they were portobellos, I probably only used about 6 oz. of mushrooms. It was still delicious! As per other reviewers' suggestions, I doubled the garlic to 2 cloves and added about 1/4 cup fat-free milk to the butter, oil, mushroom, and garlic skillet to add some creaminess to the sauce. I served this with swedishmilk's "Oven-Roasted Asparagus" recipe. The meal was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
The ingredients worked well for me. I really enjoyed this recipe. I used gluten free penne (it was what I had) and button baby bella mushrooms. I added peiled/deveined shrimp as suggested by another member. I also added diced onion because I love 'em! I added 1/2 cup of fat free milk and kicked up the creamy with 2-3 tblspn of mascarpone cheese. I have never scarfed something down so fast! It was delicioso!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States