Penne with Garlicky Broccolini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Tasty, but a little dry. I think if you added some grape tomatoes sliced in half it would add a little more liquid and a slightly different flavor that would push it over the edge to great. I'll definitely try it again with that addition. Thanks for the recipe! ETA: I made this again and added tomatoes. Really perfect. Also, I've made it once with broccoli and once with broccolini. My vote is that the broccolini is fine, but don't bother going out of your way if you can't easily find it. The broccoli was also quite good. With tomatoes added, I'd consider this a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
This recipe is amazing! I susbstituted turkey bacon for the regular to decrease the fat, and I prefer the bacon crispier. I added 1T. of extra virgin olive oit to the skillet once the pasta was tossed. I didn't have broccolini, but using broccoli florets was just fine. I think fresh garlic is the taste key here- although jarred is more convenient, the fresh gives the dish the needed zing. I make this weekly now- wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This recipe was a hit! My fiance couldn't believe all the flavors that came from something with so few ingredients. The only alteration I made was in adding some olive oil at the end because it did come out dry...however, I halved the recipe for 2 people and that could have been the culprit. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Yummy. I used sweet italian sausage instead of bacon. I also cooked the broccolini with the pasta (added it in when the pasta was close to being done). A few red pepper flakes and a little extra olive oil make this a tasty and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This was a pretty good recipe. Of course, using bacon fat as a base for the sauce doesn't really work well in a healthy endeavor. I used broccoli instead of broccolini. I also added 1/4 c of chicken broth for flavor and to cut down on the fat. One last change - I added shrimp for protein. Easy to make and quick when you don't have anything else planned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Fabulous and simple! Save time by using jarred minced garlic. I used bacon and bacon drippings (only amounted to about 1 1/2 tablespoons of fat)...was a bit dry at the end so I drizzled some good extra virgin olive oil over it and tossed as direction instruct just before adding the bacon back in. I also had to cook the broccolini longer than directions stated...actually I covered with a lid and sort of steamed it for about 5 minutes in addition to the original cook time. If you LOVE garlic--don't be afraid to add even more! Bon appetit! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
What a DELICIOUS pasta recipe!! Very easy to make. I did use veggie sausage and olive oil instead of the bacon and that was good. The broccolini was tasty and the garlic added a nice punch to the whole dish. I will be making this recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
My family loves this. I don't change a thing. So tasty, so easy & the clean-up is a cinch. Warm up a loaf of crusty bread & enjoy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I added some petite diced tomatos to this cause I was short on brocolli. It turned out so good. I am adding this to my recipe box for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abi B.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Pasta just how I like it, and just as it should be - a few, quality ingredients, lightly dressed and not bogged down with an overload of herbs and spices. Because there are so few ingredients, use the best if you can - good quality pasta, fresh broccolini, and Parmigiano-Reggiano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Barilla® Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers & Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Barilla® PLUS Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States