Penne with Garlicky Broccolini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This dish was so easy to make. I will be making this again soon in the near future. Next time I will add cherry tomatoes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Yummy!!Everybody love this and ate this fast,at my house and were asking for seconds!!I didn't know what broccolini was but i am guessing it might be what we call tenderstem here in the UK.I did the recipe slightly different, I added some cherry tomatoes and pancetta instead of bacon (about 3 cups of pre-cut ,cubed)and i used a broccoli floret and added an onion aswell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
YUMMY!! I used around 12 ounces of dry orzo (we were out of penne and rotini!), 9 slices of bacon, around ½ pound fresh broccoli, 7 largish cloves of garlic, around 4 ounces of button mushrooms (sliced), and the salt, pepper, and Parmesan. I cooked the bacon, drained off half the grease since I used three extra slices, and cooked half the garlic and the mushrooms in the remaining grease and then followed the rest of step three. It was soooo good with mushrooms! An excellent recipe and I loved it with orzo! Our four-year-old scarfed it, even the broccoli (SUCCESS!). It wasn't too dry for us when served fresh, but the leftovers got a little dry when reheated. Oh, well, it still tasted excellent. Thank you so much for sharing, Skilletzilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Lovely recipe, however I did make some alterations due to personal preference. I don't like bacon and had a ton of chicken breast in the fridge so I used that as the meat instead. I used garlic flavored EVOO to makeup for the lack of fat juice without the bacon. I also followed others advice and used regular broccoli and added grape tomatoes as well. Very delicious, my boyfriend raved all night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Love this. Even with the bacon, this is light, but filling. I started eating it and forgot the parmesan! Added it later and it was good either way. Thanks for the quick and easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
We love pasta dishes that aren't sauce laiden - This is a nice light pasta dish and healthy with the broccoli! The tomatoes make it moist enough. Even the little kids loved it. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Very good. Added chopped red peppers and 1 lb shrimp. Sprinkled red pepper flakes on top to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Very good - I added shrimp and a little lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was pretty good! I followed the recipe however, instead of bacon, I used sweet Italian sausage as P41OH suggested. I did add a load of chery tomatoes and extra olive oil. It wasn't dry at all and that allowed me to add a lot more parm. cheese. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I used Italian turkey sausage instead of bacon, whole wheat pasta, and broccoli. Broccolini was $4.99 for a small package at my organic grocery store so I decided to pass on it. I thought the flavor was o.k, but it was dry even with olive oil. I think using this recipes as a side dish, and adding some tomato would make it more appealing. I would make again because it is so easy and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States