Penne with Garlicky Broccolini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This was just ok as written. Like other reviewers said, there is no sauce to speak of- it is dry as a bone. I also felt that there was too much pasta compared to what I had in the skillet to toss it with. I have since made the following changes: I add onions, mushrooms, roasted red peppers and halved cherry tomatoes (at the end), as well as some torn fresh basil and a sprinkle of red pepper flakes. I use less pasta, and for the sauce, I add about 1/3 cup of Garlic and Herb Boursin cheese and chicken broth to the skillet until I get the desired consistency. With these changes, it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I added grape tomatoes, used steamed broccoli, added some red pepper flakes and black olives. We heart bacon, so I used about 9 slices. Added a little EVOO to make it a little less dry. I added the tomatoes to the garlic & oil before adding it to pasta and the sweetness really came out and it was great with the garlic and olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKCOURTNEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was pretty good. I substituted mild turkey sausage for the bacon, because we did not have any, and added a few shakes of red pepper flakes, and a splash of chicken broth to moisten it up. It was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I am going to give this a 4 because I think if I would have used bacon, it would have been a 4. Using olive oil I give it a 3. It was very bland, I even added tomatoes, TONS of salt, and italian seasoning. It was just missing something (very likely the bacon!). But I just hate to cook bacon, so I will tweak this until I am happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Swigart Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Good and easy. I omitted the bacon because I am vegetarian. Cooked the garlic in olive oil and used regular broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGEPUNKSTR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shadow Hills, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I used wheat Penne and turkey bacon to make this a little lighter. I did end up adding a little of olive oil to saute the garlic since the turkey bacon left very little oil in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hutto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Oh this is just awesome! Simple easy and even my kid's loved it! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!I will deffently be making this one again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
added extra garlic and probably would have been better using a little white wine to wet it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Great recipe. I added grape tomatoes and had to use broccoli florets and parmesan, romano and asiago blend because that's what I had on hand. It was really easy, fast and very tasty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This is amazing! But I'll admit I changed up the quantities slightly. We like our pasta with lots of punch in every bite so I added more bacon and broccoli and cooked only 2/3 the amount of penne. I diced 10 slices of bacon and then cooked until crisp (I discarded about half the grease so as not to drench my pasta in bacon grease). I used 1 1/2 crowns broccoli chopped into florets. Also used 15 grape tomotoes halved (as someone else recommended) and only 9 cloves of garlic. Topped off with about 2/3 cup of parmesan. It could've used more broccoli and tomatoes but it was delicious nonetheless. Hubby loved it! Will definitely make again. Note: I originally added only 6 cloves of garlic but then couldn't even taste it. I added 3 more at the end and it was pretty powerful, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States