Penne with Garlicky Broccolini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This was just ok as written. Like other reviewers said, there is no sauce to speak of- it is dry as a bone. I also felt that there was too much pasta compared to what I had in the skillet to toss it with. I have since made the following changes: I add onions, mushrooms, roasted red peppers and halved cherry tomatoes (at the end), as well as some torn fresh basil and a sprinkle of red pepper flakes. I use less pasta, and for the sauce, I add about 1/3 cup of Garlic and Herb Boursin cheese and chicken broth to the skillet until I get the desired consistency. With these changes, it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I added grape tomatoes, used steamed broccoli, added some red pepper flakes and black olives. We heart bacon, so I used about 9 slices. Added a little EVOO to make it a little less dry. I added the tomatoes to the garlic & oil before adding it to pasta and the sweetness really came out and it was great with the garlic and olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKCOURTNEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was pretty good. I substituted mild turkey sausage for the bacon, because we did not have any, and added a few shakes of red pepper flakes, and a splash of chicken broth to moisten it up. It was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I am going to give this a 4 because I think if I would have used bacon, it would have been a 4. Using olive oil I give it a 3. It was very bland, I even added tomatoes, TONS of salt, and italian seasoning. It was just missing something (very likely the bacon!). But I just hate to cook bacon, so I will tweak this until I am happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Swigart Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Good and easy. I omitted the bacon because I am vegetarian. Cooked the garlic in olive oil and used regular broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Vinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shadow Hills, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I used wheat Penne and turkey bacon to make this a little lighter. I did end up adding a little of olive oil to saute the garlic since the turkey bacon left very little oil in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Dextre

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hutto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Oh this is just awesome! Simple easy and even my kid's loved it! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!I will deffently be making this one again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
added extra garlic and probably would have been better using a little white wine to wet it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Great recipe. I added grape tomatoes and had to use broccoli florets and parmesan, romano and asiago blend because that's what I had on hand. It was really easy, fast and very tasty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This is amazing! But I'll admit I changed up the quantities slightly. We like our pasta with lots of punch in every bite so I added more bacon and broccoli and cooked only 2/3 the amount of penne. I diced 10 slices of bacon and then cooked until crisp (I discarded about half the grease so as not to drench my pasta in bacon grease). I used 1 1/2 crowns broccoli chopped into florets. Also used 15 grape tomotoes halved (as someone else recommended) and only 9 cloves of garlic. Topped off with about 2/3 cup of parmesan. It could've used more broccoli and tomatoes but it was delicious nonetheless. Hubby loved it! Will definitely make again. Note: I originally added only 6 cloves of garlic but then couldn't even taste it. I added 3 more at the end and it was pretty powerful, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States