Penne with Garlicky Broccolini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
So great! I added quite a bit to this recipe and I dont remember it all because I waited too long to rate it (my bad) I know I added artichoke hearts, small cherry tomatoes, mor bacon and probably more garlic if i know myself. I will be making again and it was fun to have the kids help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Yummy! This was great. I used frozen baby cut broccoli and added a dash of lemon juice, but otherwise followed the recipe. Would be great as a main course with some diced chicken or turkey sausage added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
4 because it does need more olive oil regardless of if you use the bacon fat or just oil.  Something needs to dampen the pasta.  Also- its important to understand that broccoli and broccolini are not even close to the same thing.  The tastes are completely different...so if you are using plain broccoli- you are not getting the true taste of the recipe.  Broccolini is bitter-and its one of those love or hate relationships.  I steam the broccolini a bit- heat tons of garlic up in olive about 1/4 cup oilve oil (I cook three bunches at a time) add salt to your taste and let simmer 5 minutes.  Then serve over pasta with a nice amount of parmesean cheese...along with a crunchy baguette! I could eat this everynight. Even yummier the next day for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I would never think to put these ingredients together, but it was sooo good! It's a great quick and easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Royersford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Family loved it. Increase bacon to 12 pieces, used turkey bacon. Sauteed all 12 garlic cloves in the turkey drippings along w/ EVOO. Added the brocollini (have made w/ brocolli and "lini" and lini is MUCH better) also wilted 3 large handfuls of spinach and added all of this to whole grain penne along w/ halved cherry tomatoes, more EVOO, more parmesan cheese and I oven fried chicken breasts and sliced and add on top and tossed it all together. Great healthy dinner easy to make and is good at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This recipe was amazing! I used whole wheat penne and turkey bacon to make it healthier but I loved this recipe! So did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Very Good! easy to make. Used regular broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coolmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This recipe is so simple to make and with only a few ingredients, this has tons of flavor. If you love garlic, you will love this dish! The first time I made this, I didn't have any cheese and it still tasted great! I added a couple extra slices of bacon. I used center cut bacon for less fat. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I made this according to the directions, only switching the pasta to rotini (all I had). It was ok, but needs something. I also had to add some oil since it was pretty dry. It was edible, but if I make it again, i'll have to make some revisions. Just needs something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Made this recipe today and it was well received in my house. Made some of changes suggested. I did use the bacon and along with the first 1/2 of the garlic I loosely chopped some fresh mushrooms and sauted them. I also added some halved cherry tomatoes . Tossed some parmasean cheese and more olive oil. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haleiwa Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States