Penne with Garlicky Broccolini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Quick, easy recipe. I prefer to add more garlic and not add the cheese as I found the flavor overwhelming. Also used turkey bacon instead of regular bacon. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Oh wow, was this tasty! I must admit, I was a little skeptical when I first came across this recipe. I wasn't sure how all those flavors would go together, but I loved it! Yes, it's probably not the healthiest thing in the world (although don't the broccoli and garlic cancel out the bacon?) but as they say, fat is flavor! YUM!! P.S. I had a pinot noir with mine, complemented the dish well I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This recipe was just okay. I have made similar recipes that have turned out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamilton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Great taste but a little dry. I would add a little olive oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I really can't believe how good and easy this was. I did indeed use olive oil instead of bacon fat. Made my whole house smell amazing. Next time, I think I will pair it with a nice spinach pizza :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach3000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I loved it, I used broccoli florets because that is what I had on hand, and added a little extra high quality EVOO like others suggested. Even my super picky 2 year old had a second helping of broccoli! Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I ended up altering this recipe due to lack of ingredients. I did not have enough fresh garlic, so I added shallots and what garlic I had. I also decided to add tomatoes, not having fresh I chose to use dried tomatoes. I love the flavor of them. I then worried that it would be dry so I used some white wine that I had on hand. We definitely enjoyed it and will have this again with the garlic that I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was very good. My only complaint is that it turned out a bit dry. I added a little bit of butter to the serving on my plate and that did the trick. Very good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I have recently fallen in love with broccolini and look for recipes where I can include this healthy vegetable easily. This recipes is a perfect example. I followed directions exactly, but on the suggestion of others, added 1 14 oz can of diced tomatoes. This resulted in a touch of color, taste, and more nutrition. We loved this dish and will add it to our favorites. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWAN22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Very good! I added 1 cup chicken broth at the end, and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States