Penne with Garlicky Broccolini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
nixed the bacon, and definably precook the broccolini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Delicious!!! I used turkey bacon and added olive oil. Also added onion and green peppers to the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This pasta was great. I used spiral pasta and made enough for 2 people. I didn't measure any of the ingredients just made it by hand and taste. I kept on adding the bacon drippings until it made it nice and easy to pass. And added roma tomatoes to this pasta and instead of salt added just a bit of garlic salt n pepper. Made this as a side dish to top sirloin steak made on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This really was great! Super garlicky! I got rid of about half the bacon grease as it was quite a lot. I also added some cherry tomatoes as per some of the suggestions and some basil at the end. Zucchini and red pepper would probably be really nice too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newsox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Love this! turned out great made it a few times so far. It's GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melisa
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This was surprisingly very quick, easy, and tasty for having no added sauce. I used farfalle pasta and added some chopped red bell pepper but I didn't add salt or pepper. The bacon and garlic was enough flavor for me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisa
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This was a good recipe. Not anything too special, but nice when you want a quick meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Used turkey bacon (and added some olive oil, because of the lack of grease before cooking the broccoli) then added a can of italian diced tomatoes and simmered the broccoli a few minutes. Good flavor, kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I don't know where I went wrong, but mine did not turn out to be the nice smokey, garlicky creation I had in mind. Instead it was a bowl of greasy pasta with broccoli and cheese that didn't taste like much of anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I didn't read other reviews before making this, but I could see when I cooked the broccoli (instead of broccolini) that the bacon grease was being absorbed. I added olive oil to both the broccoli and the finished dish and added extra cheese, but there is something missing. There needs to be more of a sauce for the pasta. It was good, but I've made carbonara before with a better recipe, so I wouldn't feel the need to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Airmont, New York, USA
Living In: Hastings On Hudson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States