Penne with Garlicky Broccolini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I liked the taste although it was very heavy on the garlic. I felt it was too dry though and needs some type of sauce over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I loved this recipe. I substituted turkey bacon and add about a tablespoon of olive oil when sauteing the garlic and broccoli. I also added another tbls at the end when I mixed in the pasta. It turned out great, and I had leftovers for lunch for the next few days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I skipped the bacon and just cooked the broccoli in a tbs of olive oil with some garlic, and that flavor + the parmesan cheese was plenty! No need for the extra calories :) I served this with Chicken Milano from this site instead of the fettuccini (cuts a lot of calories but still tons of taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was really good. Great for a fast dinner during the week. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIVAMOMMIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This wasn't bad, it just wasn't overly good. But it did make the house smell wonderful. If you like pasta with sauce, this definately isn't for you. Because there isn't much sauce and it's a little bland. Good garlic flavor, but bland on the whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drew Hess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Used broccoli since the local store in my little town did not have broccolini. I used mini penne also for the first time - which I liked. This is a good recipe, very light, healthy (if you ignore the bacon and bacon fat) and good 'n garlicky. I will make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I found this addicting. My family also liked it, but not as passionately as I did. This was a midweek, no time to shop fill-in recipe, so I used broccoli like others had since I had no broccolini on hand. I only used a 12 oz package of penne and did not have a dryness problem. It also gave it a greater veggie to pasta ratio which I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Yummy. I used sweet italian sausage instead of bacon. I also cooked the broccolini with the pasta (added it in when the pasta was close to being done). A few red pepper flakes and a little extra olive oil make this a tasty and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This was a pretty good recipe. Of course, using bacon fat as a base for the sauce doesn't really work well in a healthy endeavor. I used broccoli instead of broccolini. I also added 1/4 c of chicken broth for flavor and to cut down on the fat. One last change - I added shrimp for protein. Easy to make and quick when you don't have anything else planned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I added some petite diced tomatos to this cause I was short on brocolli. It turned out so good. I am adding this to my recipe box for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abi B.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States