Penne with Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was a great meatless meal. I had to make minor adjustments to utilize items on hand. I used pesto instead of sun-dried tomato spread and whole wheat thin spaghetti instead of penne, added sauteed onions and bell peppers from the garden. Excellent dish that will definately be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I couldn't find sundried tomato spread, so I used chopped fresh tomatoes. And I added chopped onions and a little bit of red wine. We loved it! Delicious, and since I doubled the recipe, I'm looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I love eggplant & this dish was great. I added some anchovy paste as another reviewer suggested - wonderful! I served it with brown rice, cause that's what I had on hand, and it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Very tasty option for pasta. We love eggplant and can never find enough things to use it in. This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Di Giacomo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
We'll go back and make variations on this one! We used a jarred marinara sauce instead of the tomato called for, and added mushrooms. The end result was wonderful, especially topped with Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Castroville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This was just okay. I had higher expectations I guess. The eggplant was too tough after cooking it, maybe if you peel the skin and then cook it will be more tender? Also, this dish could def use some meat, I will use hamburger next time, it was just too plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Fixed this tonight. I did not have any sundries tomato paste so I substituted fresh tomatoes. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greer, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Wonderful, quick, all the ingredients normally on hand. I did add 12 ounces of ground beef sauteed before adding the eggplant and garlic. Also used leftover brown rice instead of the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Really yummy. I ended up making it a little different, but used this as my base recipe and it was really good. I just used jarred tomato basil sauce and diced sun dried tomatoes because that's what I had. Also added onion and zucchini. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wildcat44
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Very easy for my first time cooking eggplant. I cut up the eggplant fairly small and though and it still took over 14 min to seem fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildcat44

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States