Penne with Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Since it's August, I substituted fresh tomatoes from the garden. I diced the eggplant into 3/4" cubes, and it went over well with the family. I also added a medium onion to give it a bit of added texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Great recipe! I used 1/2 an eggplant, and also 1/2 a zucchini, the two were great together. Instead of tomato paste, i used 1 cup of tomato/basil sauce (jar) with a bit of cream which I blended together. Overall, a very easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdelemos

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aveiro, Aveiro, Portugal
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
pretty good, the recipe is vague on what size the "small pieces" of eggplant should be, the sauce is kind of bland, and tastes strongly of plain tomato sauce, but it was fast and used what we had on hand! next time i think i'll add some brown sugar and cayenne pepper to compensate for the tomato sauce flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wildcat44
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Very easy for my first time cooking eggplant. I cut up the eggplant fairly small and though and it still took over 14 min to seem fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildcat44

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Really yummy. I ended up making it a little different, but used this as my base recipe and it was really good. I just used jarred tomato basil sauce and diced sun dried tomatoes because that's what I had. Also added onion and zucchini. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Wonderful, quick, all the ingredients normally on hand. I did add 12 ounces of ground beef sauteed before adding the eggplant and garlic. Also used leftover brown rice instead of the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Fixed this tonight. I did not have any sundries tomato paste so I substituted fresh tomatoes. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greer, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
We'll go back and make variations on this one! We used a jarred marinara sauce instead of the tomato called for, and added mushrooms. The end result was wonderful, especially topped with Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Castroville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This was just okay. I had higher expectations I guess. The eggplant was too tough after cooking it, maybe if you peel the skin and then cook it will be more tender? Also, this dish could def use some meat, I will use hamburger next time, it was just too plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I have made this recipe a few times, almost exactly as written except for adding an onion and using chopped sundried tomatoes instead of a paste. I have to say it always takes me a lot longer than 5 minutes to make the eggplant soft. And you really do have to dice it finely to be able to cook it well in a pan; I guess that should have been obvious, but I had to learn from experience. Excellent pasta dish, I keep coming back to it! And yummy as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States