Penne with Chicken and Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
Very very good! Fast and easy too! First off, I NEVER use chicken breasts because I feel they are too dry, and lack flavor. I ALWAYS substitute boneless skinless chicken thighs in all recipes that call for chicken. I trim off most excess fat from the thighs. I used fat free half and half for the heavy cream and then just thickened the sauce with a LITTLE cornstarch. Also, I prepared extra sauce to pour over the pasta when served. I think the sauce is best made THE NIGHT BEFORE so the flavors can blend through(it's also easier that way if you're potlucking at work as we often do). Keep the sauce and pasta separate until serving or the pasta soaks up too much of the sauce. I agree with many about bumping up the Pesto. I make my own Pesto so it packs plenty of flavor punch. Fast, easy and not fussy to make. A hit with the crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
The best pasta dish I have ever had! I love pesto so I added a couple extra tablespoons of that and I used 1 cup of half and half and 1/4 cup chicken stock to cut some calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
I absolutely loved this recipe. It turned out perfect. I did not make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsSpice
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Yum. I used chicken broth instead of cream. Tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Since I served this as a side dish with stuffed chicken, I omitted the chicken in this recipe. Wowie--I was blown away by this! I always make my own pesto, as I did this time, but this was the first time I've ever mixed it with cream and I was SO impressed that I probably will always make my pasta with pesto like this from now on. I also liked the fact that the recipe calls for a subtle amount of pesto and it was just right. Too often I've experienced such a ton of pesto in dishes (restaurants, actually) that it is literally sickening. Not this time--and I think after this dish my husband has actually made friends with pesto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
This is pretty good. I didn't have heavy cream or penne pasta so I used half & half and rotini pasta instead. Also, I added 1/2 tsp of chicken bullion granules when added the pesto. Next time I make this, I will try adding some fresh, sliced mushrooms and possibly some chopped red/green bell peppers for color. Thanks Mary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Very quick and easy to make but just an okay recipe for us. There are way too much noodles for the amount of sauce. Recommend doubling the sauce or cut down on the pasta. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Very good and super easy to make! I used Knorr Pesto Mix and made a pesto sauce before boiling the pasta and it came out just fine. The sauce is rich and tasty and this was so easy to make! I think next time I may marinate the chicken in garlic powder for a few hours before cooking. Thanks Mary for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Photo by Bonnie Z
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Made as stated with the exception of using Low Fat Evaporated Milk in place of the cream and adding a tablespoon of chicken base. Good flavor and a nice change from the typical. Used the "Pesto Sauce" recipe from this site. Thanks for a yummy use of all that basil growing like weeds in my garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Soooo good and easy! I didn't use the butter and used less olive oil than called for. Pesto has enough oil in it! I also used skim milk with a tsp of cornstarch wisked in instead of the heavy cream. It still came out GREAT! I added artichoke hearts just because I love them and they went so well with this dish. YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States