Penne with Chicken and Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I made this exactly as the recipe states but I took the complaints of others into account. Instead of doubling the sauce I made 1/2 more, and cut the penne down by removing one cup from the 16oz box. I don't feel I had too much of one or the other and had enough sauce to soak up with a nice crusty bread. The flavor was good, but I wish I would have thickened the sauce with maybe more cheese. It was a little thin. Would make again though. When someone says not enough sauce I believe them. A big Italian chain restaurant never gives enough sauce so I don't go there. Who wants dry pasta...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This is a very good starter recipe and easily customized. I took advice from other reviews and added more cream and more pesto. I also added a half can of garlic, oregano and basil seasoned diced tomato. Next time I'll use a less pasta and more chicken simply for personal preference. I'll also use some of the lower fat & calorie suggestions as well. This was very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Excellent! I will surely make this recipe soon. Did change anything perfect. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
A good easy standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Schaefer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
YUM YUM! I made this tonight with some very garlic-y chicken strips I wanted to use. I sauted the chicken strips with onions in butter. I wanted more sauce, so I poured in 2 c cream(from the top of raw milk), and added about 1 c leftover peas and simmered them together. I added a heaping 1/4 c of home made pesto I had frozen in ice cube trays this past summer and heated the whole thing through. We mixed the sauce and chicken into 1 pound of penne right as we were ready to serve it. This was a huge hit, very quick and easy, and I will likely serve it regularly. Thanks MARYSTEVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Nice penne pasta with good flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCarl
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I think it would have been better with more pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Soo good! My mom usually just makes pasta with the pesto sauce from this jar, but this was 10 times better. We used light heavy cream, and added a little flour. Also increased the amount of pesto. Awesome, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahgrace17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Very good recipe! Although I'm not a fan of cooking with heavy cream. I substitute fat free half and half and add a little flour if the sauce is too thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Soooo good and easy! I didn't use the butter and used less olive oil than called for. Pesto has enough oil in it! I also used skim milk with a tsp of cornstarch wisked in instead of the heavy cream. It still came out GREAT! I added artichoke hearts just because I love them and they went so well with this dish. YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 490) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States