Penne with Chicken and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Great basic recipe. I would advise to season the chicken to the upmost and the asparagus as well. I added in some crushed red pepper for a little kick. After I have mixed everything together I had a little bit of sauce and the consistency was watery. Solution (some of which I borrow from another user but the rest I made my own): 1/4 cup of Chicken broth, 1/4 cup of cream cheese, and about a tablespoon of chicken gravy mix, salt, pepper, and garlic pepper over medium heat on the skillet. I stirred until it was blended and creamy. I poured the cream sauce over the mixture and mixed it in and it came out great. Its not a lot of sauce but its just enough to keep the flavor in. Oh and I also added in about a half cup of Parmesan for more cheesiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
It's very easy and quick to make and my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
followed recipe exactly and it was ok. there wasn't a whole lot of flavor and the chicken got dry during cooking. the asparagus was very tender. i would use more broth next time and cook the chicken half way through then add in the veggies. the broth would help keep the chicken moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blevande

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This has become a favorite "pasta-night" dinner. During the summer it is light and yummy!! I added a tad bit more salt & pepper for flavor, but my daughters love this and its a good way to get protein and a veggie in them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KODOHERTY
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Great recipe!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera_Marie
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lecaraneal
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
just did this tonight! it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I was surprised how much I liked this. As others pointed out this is not a saucy dish. Almost all of the liquid is absorbed in the pasta. But that just makes it light and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This is the second attempt at this recipe and I think I got it right this time. (Last time I didn't have all the right ingredients and was too lazy to go to the store.) This time I got it right and we loved it. Basically I made it just like the instructions say except I also added one sliced red bell pepper, lots more garlic, one large white onion, and a basket of sliced brown mushrooms. I used freshly grated parmesan and romano cheese instead of the dry stuff and substituted the salt for seasoned salt and cayenne pepper. In the end I also added some cornstarch and water to the broth/oil mixture to give it a yummy gravy-like consistency. Fantastic. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This was a light,healthy dish that my boyfriend and I enjoyed. I did make a few changes such as using fetuccini pasta instead and added mushrooms,small jar rof artichoke hearts, red peppper flakes and fresh lemon juice. My boyfriend suggested adding cherry tomatoes, olives and capers. Hmm...maybe I'll try that next time or just add sundried tomatoes. So many options but still great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This is the second time I've made this. I follow the recipe exactly and it's great. Of course you can add extras. I don't bc my kids like it the way it is, asparagus and all! I will add other veggies as they start liking them, adding more broth and parmesan as needed. Thanks Laurel B!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 757) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States