Penne with Chicken and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
AWESOME pasta dish and healthy too! Here is what I did..... After steps 1 and 2, I removed chicken to paper towels and in the same pan I sautéd sliced mushrooms, the asparagus, and 3 cloves of garlic (minced) for about 5 minutes. Then I added 1/2 cup low sodium chicken broth, and 1/3 cup white wine, and a can of drained artichoke hearts. I covered and simmered all for about 5 minutes, added back the chicken and simmered another 5 minutes. I then stirred the chicken mixture into the pasta. I did not add the additional olive oil, because I added a little butter to the pasta after it cooked. And don't forget fresh Parmesan cheese! Next time I will add a little red pepper flakes for a bit of a kick, although it was still very tasty! The entire recipe makes a lot, so there's plenty for lunches during the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUDI BAKES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Awesome healthy pasta dish. I doubled the chicken broth and thickened it a bit with cornstarch at the end. For contrast I added a small amount of chopped sun-dried tomatoes (not the kind in oil). Will definitely prepare again; thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Nothing fancy or memorable, but a good staple to keep in the recipe rotation. I tried to use a little less olive oil, but it needs the moisture of 3-4 tbsp. Asparagus steams perfectly. Warms up well for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This is a great, quick, weeknight meal. I used Veggie Penne. Get the pasta and asparagus going at the same time and the prep time is less than advertised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Yummy! I too, added mushrooms! Mushroom go with anything! Used spaghetti instead of penne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Delicious, and my 3 year old ate asparagus willingly for the first time! My DH struck his nose up and ate plain noodles for dinner...his loss! We are sauce lovers here, so I whipped up a cheese sauce. After cooking the chicken, I added 1 1/2 c. Water and a cube of chicken bouillon to the pan, simmered until the bouillon dissolved, then drained all but half a cup from the pan before steaming the asparagus. Then I removed the asparagus, returned the rest of the broth to the pan and added about 1/4 c. Parmesan cheese (the powdered kind, it's all I had on hand) and about a tsp of flour. I whisked that together over a medium heat and let it simmer until thickened, then spooned it over the chicken/asparagus/penne. It was delicious! If I had to do it again I'd probably have real parmesan, but I really didn't feel like running to the store just for cheese! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki Schneider Noy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Used about 1/4 tsp. salt, pepper and garlic powder each on chicken and again on asparagus. Used 12 oz. gluten free penne pasta. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Delicious and versatile! I usually make a recipe shortly after it’s saved to the recipe box but this one went missing for a couple of years. Finally got around to making it and it was a terrific meal. The leftovers are equally as good. Only changes were I upped the chicken stock to one cup and added 4 oz. of fresh chopped button mushrooms in step 3. I seasoned the dish with Penzy’s ® Mural of Flavor seasoning. Blend includes shallots, onion, garlic, lemon peel, citric acid, chives and orange peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I made this just like it calls, but I added broccoli and I used the veggie pasta to get some more veggies in here (even if only a little bit), and I thought it was great! It was filling, and yet was light. I would recommend making this if you get a chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This is a great recipe. If you love to cook, then you are creative in your own way and each recipe is a suggestion on which you can create your own taste. I love that this recipe is light and simple. If you feel like you want to create something from it, you can add lemon juice, zest and cream, or red pepper flakes, or Cajun seasoning and crawfish (minus the chicken), or just veggies. Good job Laurel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 798) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States